Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Very good! Perfect with a side of strawberry preserves/jam. 1 egg + 1/2 c milk is enough to coat several sandwiches. The mustard mayo spread gives an interesting perk to this sweet sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Yum and Yum...I added a tbs of flour to the egg/milk mixture for a thicker batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Def. one that I will make again. Maybe add a drop or two of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon for the true french toast taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piglet32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I've never had a monte cristo sandwich before, so I have no point of comparison, but I enjoyed this. I used RIO R's thickened batter (click "Most helpful" and his will be the first review in the list), but I scaled it way down to make enough batter just for one or two sandwiches, and I used milk instead of water. The batter was nice and thick. I only had deli turkey and American cheese, and I used spicy mustard with no mayo. I dipped it in strawberry jam, which I warmed in the microwave for 15 seconds to make it easier to use as a dip. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was a pretty good sandwich. It tasted just a tad too eggy to me so perhaps I will use a bit more milk next time. It's not quite what I remember eating years ago but still a good sandwich. I also did not measure the mayo and mustard. I just put on as much as knew I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I haven't EVER had Monte Cristo deep fried- this is always the way I've had mine. Very simple and basic. can be dressed up more but I just enjoy mine as cooked, no powdered sugar, no jelly-- just as a warm sandwich with the "batter". Excellent recipe. I make it frequently. my daughter prefers it with Cheddar, but it's good any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
To make a thicker batter like bennigans buy a box of tempura batter, and dip the sandwiches in that, then deepfry. DELICIOUS! Also for a spicy kick dip in jalapeno jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utley813

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I used fried bacon, ham & swiss, added a dollop of maple syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg, S&P to the batter fried in butter & served with maple syrup. Hubby says it's the best "grilled sandwich" I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Loved it! I used sliced roast beef in place of ham and used dijon instead of plain mustard. Also added vanilla to the egg mixture. This was perfect served with raspberry jam and a sprinkling of confectioners sugar!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States