Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Nothing to rant and rave over, but a great option for leftover turkey and ham. I found grilling it left the 'meat' rather cold, so the second sandwich I heated up the inside first and then did the bread second with the meat in the middle (served hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I make 2 sandwiches every day for my husband to take to work... I put the mayo/mustard on one slice of bread then dip the opposite side of that slice in the egg mixture (put it in a warm frying pan), I then add the meat and cheese and then with the 2nd slice I dip it in the egg mixture (both sides are covered), put this on top of the meat..sprinkle a little salt on it... I find you really need to let these sandwiches cook slowly, over low heat, to make sure they are cooked through and not soggy.. hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
THIS WAS VERY VERY GOOD. IT HAS BEEN ADDED TO MY FAVORITES LIST. THANKS FOR SHARING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I was looking for a quick dinner and didnt want french toast or grilled cheese, and I had seen this on diner menus, so I figured it had to be ok.. It was really good! It didnt come out as pretty as I had hoped, but next time I go to the diner I will order this to check it out and perfect my sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was a last minute dinner for the boys tonight. I doubled it to make two sandwiches. The kids thought this was great--they flipped over the "french toast sandwiches". I did cook my sandwiches in a buttered skillet, that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I'm from Baltimore, MD and the way we've always made them is without the mayo/mustard, heavy on the egg so it is really battered, cut into triangles, and served with Warm Real Maple Syrup for dipping. It is SO good like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
when i followed the recipe the batter was not very think but i like it better that way. i switch this recipe up alot and used various meats and cheeses and its always good. i also use raspberry preserves to dip it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kk_mcqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I would not make this again - too heavy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Mine came out soggy on the inside. Not sure why, but maybe it was the light mayo, even though I used only a little. Will try with mustard only next time. I have had this sandwich in a restaurant and mine did not turn out nearly that well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Nice and quick. I substituted medium cheddar because that's what I had and my daughter prefers it to Swiss. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States