Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
very good, kids loved it. pretty easy, even in less oil, just flip halfway through. we used strawberry preserves for dipping, i guess any kind will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Reminded me of the Monte Cristos I would have at the Northstar Hotel in downtown Minneapolis many decades ago. Next time I do them, though, I will keep the sandwich whole and cut after frying....the quartered pieces had a tendency to fall apart even though I used 2 toothpicks in some of the quarters. Otherwise, the flavor was there...the consistency was good...all in all a wonderful Monte Cristo. Am OK with the grease since it is not something I eat (lot of grease in anything) on a regular basis. Once a year is not going to cause a heart attack:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Wonderful!!!! I made a reduction of Balsamic vinegar, cherry jam, ground ginger and white pepper for dipping and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
If you like the taste of oil then this is great....if not....just eat the sandwiches and save yourself some time....great for chapped lips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
So many reviews include ways to change this sandwich because of it being deep fried. Please don't; this is what the sandwich is. If you want to do it differently, create a recipe making a sandwich the way you like it, but don't go telling people how to change it to make it taste worse. Oh yeah, another thing... no one cares what you think or hour husband thinks or your dog thinks... it's not about YOU; get over yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
After reading the reviews, I wasn't sure if I'd think this was too greasy, or if I should fry it in a skillet like french toast, as some people suggested. But I really liked how these turned out, and I liked that they reminded me of restaurant style Monte Cristo sandwiches. I made mine with hawaiian rolls, as someone else did, and I just used blackberry jam that I had, which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
We make this as one of the many turkey reprisals that follow a large turkey dinner :) Very good, definitely not something I make often as it is super fatty, but it really is a nice indulgence around the holidays. Very simple recipe, I always find I need more batter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Good recipe... Thnks... www.menuresepmasakan.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was awesome! My kids loved it and have already requested I make it again. I doubled the batter recipe and doubled the meat in the sandwich. I also used cheddar because that is what I had on hand. Will try with Swiss next time. We ate it with red currant jam on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States