Monte Cristo Hotdog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Don't knock it until you try it. This is really one of the ultimate salty/sweet combinations. I heard about this first on Diners, Drive-in's and Dives and we had to make this for ourselves. It's really good. No, really. Just make sure you do use a good quality dog and a nice brand of swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I ran across this recipe and had to try it! I made this for my husband and I, and we were really surprised by how well the flavors go together. It was a treat, definatly. Gourmet hot dogs, all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is the best hot dog recipe i've ever tried. I also recommend when you melt the cheese on the hot dog with the lid on it pouring a splash of chicken broth in the pan before you cover it over, MMMM steamy chicken goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I used raspberry instead of strawberry jam and regular hot dogs. The taste is there, but the method needs a little work to make execution easier. I thought Monte Cristo sandwiches are supposed to be lightly battered then deep-fried? No matter, we thought this was an interesting twist on your traditional hot dog, as we enjoy sweet and savoury combinations. Served this with "Carolyn's Sweet Potato Fries" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is great! I just had regular sandwich bread and it still came out great. Thanks for the recipe Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gurley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lodgepole, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I used turkey dogs, since that's what I eat, and I have to say that I am a big fan. I do not think I will brave eating this in front of the man or friends, but when I am home alone - with no one but my dogs to make gross faces and ridicule me, you betcha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was excellent! The sweetness of the jam and the saltiness of the meat was a wonderful combo! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slytherin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cloverdale, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Awesome. So easy to make. I've also tried it with rasberry jam and it was great! Think I might try cream cheese and jam next time. Definitely a winner. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corymia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Sweet. I am not the only freak that eats this! It sounds crazy, but crazy can be quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was different. I didn't love it, but it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States