Monster Sour Cream Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I've made a dish similar to this for years. I usually use only one can of cream of chicken soup, along with green chile enchilada sauce, add ortega chiles, sour cream, onions and cheese (cheddar). I mix it all together with the chicken and then fill the tortillas and roll them up. Top it with the chicken mixture and cheese. Similar, and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
My roommate and I are trying to learn how to cook. This was really amazing. We made some changes though. We bought frozen chicken breast and boiled it for approx 20 min, maybe a lil more w/ some salt. We then shredded the chicken by hand and marinated it in some Tapatio hot sauce. We added Rotel tomatoes to the sauce. We replaced the cheeses with shredded pepper jack and some finely shredded fiesta blend (still 8 oz of each), because muenster cheese has a very high saturated fat content. And we used flour tortillas instead of corn. We served it over Spanish rice that we cooked in my rice maker. We ate leftover enchiladas for days. Amazing every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is now the go-to chicken enchilada recipe for our family! I modified it by replacing one can of soup with a jar of salsa verde or green enchilada sauce. I also cut the sour cream half and half with Greek yogurt to save on the fat content, and instead of the Muenster and Colby, I use the same amount of Costco shredded Mexican cheese blend. I reduced the cooking time by about 5 minutes to prevent the tortillas on the bottom from getting tough. Tastes great served with mango salsa and/or a dollop of sour cream or Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was just too soupy and salty for me. I will go back to my other enchilada recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I changed this up a little and added 1 can of corn to the mixture. Also removed the on top...but it is a family favorite in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I did not care for this recipe! I feel bad because it made so much and now my husband will be eating it for the next 3 days. I think the worst part is, like others said, is how soupy it is. There is virtually no flavor in this besides tasting cream of chicken soup. It basically takes like your just eating cream of chicken. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.blanke

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These are the GREATEST enchiladas I have ever had! Better than any I have gotten in a restaurant! I did substitute some of the cream of chicken for a can of green chile enchilada sauce and I mixed my green onions in with my sauce so I would not scare off my children with all the green! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Needs more seasoning. Will have to try some different things next time. The muenster and colby was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was the best recipe we've made yet from this site!!! DEEEELISH! We loved it so much, I made sure to come back and do a review. For those people that didn't use the 2 cheeses, you are MISSING OUT! The cheeses together were amazing. I normally don't like this much cheese, but it was sooooo good. Also, we followed the reviewer that recommended the bean and bacon condensed soup and taco seasoning. Those were perfect add-ons. I can't imagine using cream of chicken. The bean and bacon has the consistency of beans/refried beans and with the taco dip added in, it tasted just like a Mexican dish. I would recommend to just layer the ingredients and add more tortillas. I ended up with 5-6 tortillas in the dish and husband and I both thought that amount should have been doubled. Like the previous poster said, the whole thing just fell apart by the time it's done and probably would have held up better with a lot more tortillas and layering. Plus it would have cut down on prep time by quite a bit. One last thing. . .to "roast" the chicken (I'm not a cook so I didn't really know how to do this) we used boneless chicken thighs on high broil for 10 minutes - 5 minutes on one side and 5 minutes on the other and then cut that up and put it in the dish (leave them still a bit pink). I was SHOCKED at how tender and yummy the chicken was this way!! I will probably do this for many more recipes now that I know. This will be a regular in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My husband thought it was delicious. I loved it too, but didn't give it five stars because it turned out more like a casserole vs. enchiladas. It had a great taste and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States