Monster Cookies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
wanted to whip up a quick batch of cookies for neighbor girl. This fit the bill. I didn't have a yellow mix so used French Vanilla. Added a bit of this and that; mini chips, raisins, butterscotch chips, and some chopped up Hershey kisses w/Almonds I had left...enough to equal 2 cups total. They baked up beautifully, didn't spread much so can put quite a few on the sheet without fear of overcrowding. They actually didn't taste like cakemix at all. Great recipe that did what it promised. Numerous variation possibilities make this a lovely, versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
These cookies are no culinary masterpiece, but they're easy and a huge crowdpleaser. I doubled the recipe (nearly 70 cookies!) and took them to work; they received many compliments. My roommate, who tried one, asked me to help her make a batch to take with her on a camping trip. I followed exactly except for using 1/2 cup ss chocolate chunks and 1/2 cup ss chocolate chips, as well as adding 1 cup of M&M's. Pecans are also good instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
I used devil's food cake mix and it worked and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I love these! It is fun to try different cake mixes and to throw in whatever I have on hand! They are always a big hit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I substituted butterscotch chips for the walnuts -- tastes great!! They were simple & fast to make. I will try them with other variations & cake mix flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
For a cake mix recipe, these worked pretty well - super easy to put together while the oven preheats, and very tweakable. I increased the oats to 3/4 cup and added 3/4 tsp of salt, using chocolate cake mix and PB chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good cookies, took these to a potluck and they were gone fast! The kids help make them, so they were proud to take credit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niccole Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Yum, these are really good, very moist and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Five stars for how much easier these are than making them the old fashioned way! They are soft and very tasty. I think for the oats to add any real texture though, they need to be doubled. You could skip the oats, too, because 1/2 a cup doesn't seem to do anything for them. I will make these again for sure. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
The Instructions say to let them cool on a wire rack after you let them cool on the pan. But my Hubby didnt even let them make it the 5 mins on the pan. And he is an extremely picky person. he made me wake up early and make him some for his work buddies the next day. Theyre that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States