Monster Cookies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Just finished these and DH found them to be o.k. They were a bit too "cakey" & not very sweet. I think that had to do with the addition of baking powder to the cake mix. I misread the recipe & added 2/3 cups of oats & 1/2 cup butter. I found it to be enough butter because the mixture was quite oily. I used a Pillsbury Classic Yellow cake mix which has pudding in it; omitted the chocolate chips but added raisins instead. Will try again but omit the baking powder & increase the oats as well. I think we were expecting more of a soft chewy oatmeal type cookie. They are a very easy & fast cookie to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Tastes great & so easy! Perfect for me & my 4 year old to make. We used Devil's food cake mix & added Smarties. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPIDERWIFE
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
These were good, but nothing special. I used a white cake mix and since I didn't have any nuts I added some craisins. Also a splash of vanilla. They took 15 minutes to cook in my oven. I'll try them again, maybe with lemon or chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Yum, these are really good, very moist and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
For a cake mix recipe, these worked pretty well - super easy to put together while the oven preheats, and very tweakable. I increased the oats to 3/4 cup and added 3/4 tsp of salt, using chocolate cake mix and PB chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Five stars for how much easier these are than making them the old fashioned way! They are soft and very tasty. I think for the oats to add any real texture though, they need to be doubled. You could skip the oats, too, because 1/2 a cup doesn't seem to do anything for them. I will make these again for sure. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I love these! It is fun to try different cake mixes and to throw in whatever I have on hand! They are always a big hit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
The Instructions say to let them cool on a wire rack after you let them cool on the pan. But my Hubby didnt even let them make it the 5 mins on the pan. And he is an extremely picky person. he made me wake up early and make him some for his work buddies the next day. Theyre that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good cookies, took these to a potluck and they were gone fast! The kids help make them, so they were proud to take credit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was a good cookie - and a great way to get rid of the partial bags of chips that are left over from other recipes. I used chocolate cake mix and just added together chips, nuts and coconut to make 2 cups. They were easy and my kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States