Monster Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
People definitely love these cookies! I do a few adjustments to the recipe to make it less sweet and divide out the goodness a little more... I cut the amount of brown sugar to 1 cup and the white sugar to 3/4 cup. I use half quick oats and half old fashioned oats. And so I can get chocolate in tinier bits all over the cookies, I use mini baking M and Ms and the mini chocolate chips. I tried it with chunky PB but found the smooth PB tasted a tad bit better. I was fooled the first time and waited until they looked done before I took them out. That meant they weren't as chewy so make sure to take them out right before they look done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
These were excellent!!!! I made them just as the recipe stated. One tip (I found this out from making cookies in the past) you must use the ice cream scoop or make them that big to have them turn out. If you try to make them small, they will turn out very different. The second time I made these, I ran out of creamy peanut butter so I used part crunchy. I think I liked this mix - it added to the texture. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
These are my family's favorite treat, but I only rated it 4 stars because of all the revisions I have made to the recipe over time. Changes include: 1) substitue 3/4 c. of oats for flour. 2) Use half quick cooked oats and half regular rolled oats, so they're not so grainy/dry and stick together better. 3) I cut both brown sugar and white sugar by about 1/4 c. each (they're still almost too sweet) And 4) Substitue part of the chocolate chips and M&Ms with Butterscotch chips, so you put in an equal amount of each. Definitely make these large or they will be very hard and flat. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is an excellent recipe but noticed that many stated they were hard. This is a special trick for ANY cookie which seems too hard. Place cookies in an airtight container. ADD a slice of bread or 2 and cover. Wait to see what happens over night. I would try just one slice first. The bread provides moisture to the cookie and makes them moist. I have had cookies so moist they fell apart so just try the one slice first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAPLANTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This recipe is very good! I made it like some other reviewers did and substituted 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips for 1/2 cup of the chocolate chips...very yummy. Even though the recipe is wonderful "as is" I tried cutting back the sugar on my 2nd batch and liked them even better! (1 cup brown sugar and only 1/2 cup white sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess of her Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is the recipe I have been waiting for! I had a Monster cookie recipe that worked well for me over the years. For some reason the cookies haven't been staying together recently. Maybe they are making margarine with more water now or one of the ingredients have changed causing the recipe to not work. I've been searching for another recipe similiar to the one I had. This is it! I followed the recipe perfectly and they are beautiful cookies! They are NOT flat! They are perfect size. I bake 6 cookies at a time to give them enough room to evenly bake. What a hit! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is the best version of monster cookie recipes I have tried! It makes a good size batch and they freeze really well, I often put a few in small freezer bags and put them in my husbands lunchbox. He loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
They stay chewy so to us this recipe is 5*! used 1/2 butterscotch chips, 1/2 choco chips. I used 1/2 cup less brown sugar than it called for and it was still very sweet to me.I may take 1/4 cup white sugar away next time and see how it does. Kids went nuts over these goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Let me tell you..these cookies are excellent! I made them for my school and everyone has requested the recipe. However, switched it up alittle bit. I added pecans, white chocolate chips and chocolate chips instead of the M&M. This is a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This recipe is GREAT! We have gone to an Amish bakery for years to get these yummy treats, now I can bake them myself. Think these will go great in the bake sale for the Girl Scouts we are having...if the cookies last that long! Hubby has sold all that I have baked so far, with more on "order", from him and his co-workers! They have seemed to freeze well, great when making several items in advance! thanks vicki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States