Monster Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Oh My Goodness these are the best cookies ever! I can't believe anyone would give this recipe less than 5*. I was skeptical about no flour, especially after reading some of the reviews, but honestly no changes are necessary unless you prefer one type of candy/chocolate or nuts/no nuts; the recipe bakes perfect, chewy cookies. Due to my preference I cut out 1/4 of each sugar and added pecans. I baked mine for 13 minutes and just spooned a larger amount of dough for each cookie instead of using the ice cream scoop. They turned out perfect...they looked like and tasted like a cookie you would buy at a specialty bakery. Honestly, my family's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This recipe is great as is. It is easy to put together. It stays chewy and has a great peanut butter taste without tasting like burnt peanut butter that so many do. My personal preference is to add more chocolate chips (about 12 ounces) and replace the M&Ms with Reeses peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrinaZ
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
These cookies are really REALLY good. I have to say, I was skeptical of the directions which do not call for creaming the butter and sugars together, but I followed them anyway and the cookies turned out great. * I reduced the amount of brown sugar by 1/4 cup and I used mini chocolate chips and mini reeses pieces, because I happened to have both. * I used a 1/4 cup ice cream scoop which made 24 BIG cookies. But hey, they are "monster" cookies right?! They also baked for 14 minutes. * Tips for other bakers: Try to keep your oven at an even 350 degrees and rotate the pan(s) half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Loved this cookie! Nice chewy texture and super easy to make. It really did make about 72 cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
These cookies are so delicious. I add walnuts to mine just because my family likes them that way. However, these don't make as many cookies as the recipe says it does. I use a regular sized ice cream scoop and it yields 30 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made the cookies exactly as written and they turned out perfect. Just the right amount of puffiness and soft on the inside. My family has decided that this is now their all time favorite cookie. Guess I will be making it a lot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I over mixed so they were pretty flat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yum! I was surprised to see this recipe doesn't include flour - a great treat to make for my gluten-free friends. I did cut the sugar slightly as suggested and they were still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used crunchy peanut butter and these were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
The alterations I made made this a 5 star, but I can't speak for the original recipe so I gave it a 3. I left the amount of sugar alone, and was glad I did. I also added 1 tsp of salt, doubled the butter, and replaced 1/2 of the oats with flour and used quick cooking oats for the rest. Using an ice cream scoop like the recipe said, I made 1/3 of the recipe and only ended up with 12 GIANT cookies. These were a little fragile, even after setting for a few minutes to cool, but they turned out with a beautiful texture when they were completely cooled. My husband very much enjoyed these, next time I will make them smaller and just reduce the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States