Monster Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I cut the sugar to 1 cup brown and 1/4 cup white, and they are still VERY sweet. Influenced by other reviews, I replaced 1/2 cup oats with same amount of flour. Only issue for me is that they did not spread much at all, and using a small ice cream scoop gave me only 40 cookies. They are chewy and delicious; but I am still searching for a recipe that is just a tad better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Awesome! These are a big hit for our annual Christmas cookie bake. They don't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Ok, I have made these twice. First time as is but with butterscotch chips instead of MMs (I am not a fan of MMs baked in cookies). Great cookies and that is what I gave my 5 stars on. My second time I only had 1 cup of rolled oats so i used quick oats for the rest -- cookies did not turn out as chewy. I also used some cinnamon chips as I only had a few butterscotch left. I like the butterscotch and chocolate better (first batch). I also used a large cookie scoop instead of an ice cream scoop the second time and dropped my time down to 11 minutes. Honestly, the smaller scoop could account for them not being as chewy, but I think it is the quick oats. I strongly suggest either using the ice cream scoop or lowering the time for smaller scoop. So, recipe is a winner as is, even little mods will alter this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These cookies are awesome and makes a lot too! Made these for a bonfire this past weekend and of all the desserts I had, there were very few of these left. After I measured the peanut butter out of a new jar, there wasn't much left, so I ended up scraping the rest (small jar) into the bowl. I used chunky too. They're best if you don't over-bake them but just as good if you do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy VanScoyk Foreacre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent, these are my family's favorite cookies but they are in limited supply to purchase locally- thank you for sharing; now I can make them anytime we get the craving! I did follow the "less sugar" variation and they're perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
FANTASTIC! One of my favorite cookies, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I could not get these cookies to stay together. I tried a smaller scoop, pressing them tight, cooking for 12, 13, 14 and 15 minutes but no matter what they crumbled on the cooling rack. My husband requests these all the time and I failed epically on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
What a wonderful recipe! I made these for my 2-year-old son's birthday party, and heard comments about them all afternoon. I took a member's advice and reduced the brown sugar to 1 cup (instead of 1.5 cups) and that turned out to be the perfect balance. I stuck to all the other instructions, though I was a little worried because the butter consistency wasn't specified. I was pretty sure it should be "softened" (as opposed to melted or cold-chopped), and that turned out to be right. There was just enough peanut butter to taste, without overwhelming the other flavors. They turned out wonderfully chewy, too! Before the party was over, I had guests begging me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was my first attempt ever making monster cookies. They came out amazing! This recipe will definitely be used over and over. I do need to get an ice cream scoop though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I didn't even notice when I started making these that there wasn't any flour. After putting all of the ingredients in, I went back and read the recipe again to make sure that I wasn't missing anything. Nope, no flour in these. And thank goodness for my KitchenAid mixer because I could not imagine trying to mix in all of those oats by hand. I followed the recipe except I used Reeses Pieces on the tops for my peanut butter loving kids. Using the ice cream scoop, these are Monster cookies. I made about 12 this size and then used a smaller scoop for the rest. This recipe does yield a large amount of cookies. Good thing - they're going fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States