Monster Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong--but these were a monstorous disaster! They spread out until they were flat as pancakes, didn't hold together well and were impossible to even get off the cookie sheet. However, I must have done something wrong... since everyone else gave this recipe such good reviews. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These cookies were good - I did have one problem however, the test batch of these were way too runny and I had to add more oats to give the cookie any sort of shape (besides a flat blob). I also substituted peanut butter chips for M&M's because peanut butter chips were a dollar at the store and half as many M&M's were three dollars. The end product, with more oats, was wonderful and will be a big hit this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
mixed and baked exactly as directed. cookies spread a bit to much. next time I cut back brwn sug by 1/2 cup, backed off pb by 1/2 cup. added 1/2 C flour and baked 13 minutes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I don't know if it was something that I did, but these cookies spread so much that I couldn't get them off of the cookie sheet. I tried baking them longer but they turned out like pancakes. But, I have to say the cooked edges of the cookie were delicious. I finally added about 1 1/2 cups of flour to the remaining dough and the last half turned out much more edible. I will make this recipe again, but next time I'll add some flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is a great cookie!!! I cut the recipe in half and got about 50 cookies using my 1/8 measuring cup to mold the cookies into the same size. I used Old fashioned oats and Marantha Natural Peanut Butter which is the best IMHO (doesn't have any added sugar). I didn't have M&M's so I did a mixture of 1 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup raisins. I also added 1/2 cup unsweentened coconut with the 1/2 cup crushed peanuts. I read all the reviews and no one seemed to talk about how sweet the cookie was but next time I'll try to cut the sugar a little. I definately needed some milk to cut the sweetness. It may be my oven (I'm in a foreign country that doesn't do a whole lot of baking) so at the max time, my cookies were still a bit on the gooey side. I cooked mine at 20 mins and they are crispy, chewy, and perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I substituted milk chocolate chips and substituted dried cherry flavored cranberries for the peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
These cookies were delicious and fairly easy to make. I used my handy, dandy cookie dropper instead of rolling them into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYBRENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I ran out of oats so used 6 cups oats and 2-1/2 cups flour. Also added 7 oz bag of coconut and used 3 cups M&M's, no other chocolate or nuts. I made mine 5-6 inches in diameter. Rolled into a 2-3 inch ball and did not flatten them. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I have made these a few times and have not reviewed them until now. I usually cut the recipe in half and still have tons of cookies. Quick and easy! I let the KitchenAid do the mixing and these are a breeze. I have made these with butter and also have used butter flavored crisco. I like the texture of the cookies better using the butter flavored crisco, but very good cookies either way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
OMG! This recipe rocks! Crispy outside and chewy inside. We went with the full 12 minutes for extra crunch. Perfect match for making our 4th of July ice cream sandwich cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States