Monster Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I cut the recipe in half. I followed all directions, but did a few things differently. I used an ice cream scoop to form the dough onto the cookie sheet. That way the dough is firmly packed. I then pressed down a little on the dough to flatten it to about 3/4 inch thick. I put the cookie sheet in the fridge for about 10 minutes, then into the oven. That way they didn't spread out all over the pan (that happens when the butter in the recipe goes from already warm and soft to hot and liquidy!) and they still held a perfect cookie shape. I don't like cookies with so much chocolate, but my boyfriend loved them for Valentine's Day as this is a recipe his mom always used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
This recipe does not work. Don't waste your time. You need the one with more baking soda. The lack of baking soda causes the cookies to come out so flat. Read other reviews. You shouldn't have to add flour after the fact. Use another monster cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2000
This recipe was delicious. We added about 1/4 cup of flour so that they would be a little firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Again, I'm not a large cookie fan (esspecially those filled with chocolate) BUT, despite my bias, these are pretty tasty and my family really enjoyed them. They make ALOT!!! I'm not sure what I'm going to do with all of them yet but we had no problems making them. Maybe I'll try halving the recipe next time and see if success can still be achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Wish I would of read the reviews first! I have made monster cookies similar to this one and they were all SO good, these were flat and terrible, waste of money & time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
My first tray ended up all over the bottom of my oven because it ran over the sides... then I had to scrape everything off, so I ended up with bits nothing like cookies. I thought a recipe with no flour was weird, but i saw the review of 4 stars, and the pic picture posted so I went for it. NEVER AGAIN. I managed to work enough flour into the remaining dough so they didnt spread everywhere... but very unhappy with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Monster cookies are supposed to be BIG and full of goodies... These looked like flat puddles. They tasted fine but they are not appealing at ALL. Do not use this recipe if you want big fluffy cookies. I added extra baking soda and flour and it did not help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I just made these cookies and they worked our PERFECTLY!!! Everyone loved them - they were a BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I thought these cookies came out great. I didnt have a problem with flat cookies. mine were big and chunky. I chilled the dough overnight as well, and only baked for 12. didnt use flour either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Awesome cookies my kids and I love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States