Monster Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
great cookies i used a whole bag of chocolate/caramel swirled chips and mini m&m's everyone loved them went really well. made a huge batch but will make them again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLY JO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Runnells, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I wanted to point out that an 18 oz. jar of peanut butter equals 2 cups (not 1 1/2 cups like another reviewer posted). So you'll need one and a half 18 oz. jars of peanut butter to equal the 3 cups needed for this recipe. I like to use the crunchy kind. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
A very good and very easy to prepare recipe for Monster Cookies! Made these today b/c I was craving all sorts of flavors (I had a taste for PB, oatmeal, chocolate, butterscotch - you get the idea!). The only change I made was to add a little bit of everything I had on hand - butterscotch, semi-sweet, milk and white chocolate chips, M&M's (a couple packages of candies are fine - no need to buy a large bag of baking bits). I was able to clear out a lot of odds and ends in my pantry (hooray!) These are now my "everything but the kitchen sink" "monster" cookies (monster b/c they DO make a MONSTER batch - perfect for bake sales). Used a large cookie scoop (3 T.) to form cookies and baked for 13.5 minutes and they came out uniform in size and chewy. Goes great with a tall glass of cold milk : ) Oh, and these keep well - a little crisp, but easily softened when dipped in liquid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Awesome recipe, mine didn't go flat. Mine are good looking cookies, contrary to other reviews. Made the cookies into balls and flattened them only slightly on a parchment-lined cookie sheet. Baked them at 350 for 10 mins and let them finish cooking for 2 more mins on the cookie sheet out of the oven. In my experience using parchment is key to turning out great cookies. They are crunch on the outside and chewy in the centre. Made half a batch and it almost overflowed my kitchenaid mixer. I would not have wanted to try and mix this by hand, it is a very stiff dough. Also used chocolate chips only, no m&ms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
These cookies are GREAT!! I didn't alter anything and they came out perfectly. My fiance and our roommates loved them. They might not be the prettiest cookies but, they aren't ugly, they look just like oatmeal raisin cookies and they are not too chewy and not too crunchy. I will absolutely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My first batch of cookies tasted a little bit on the blah side. I would have given the recipe 2-3 stars except that I did find a way to save them (which was fortunate since I don't know what I would have done with such an enormous amount of batter). I ended up using every last bit of leftover Christmas baking "stuff" ( butterscotch chips, chocolate swirl chips, peanut butter m&ms, semi-sweet chocolate chips, milk chocolate chips, mini m&ms, peanut butter chips). Yeah. That definately made them great! I will now call this my Everything cookie. It really was great, especially with the butterscotch chips to make them sweeter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These are pretty good. I halved the recipe, because I didnt need 6 dozen cookies :) I also, added a 1/4 C raisins! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This does take awhile. They are truely monsterous! Very good recipe. We liked them "just" baked. The one pan we over-baked was a little hard, but still tasty. Added this one to the "recipe box"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
These were pretty good. I wanted to use up some peanut butter and oats, so it worked for that! The mixture almost overflowed my Kitchenaid; it makes a ton! Our family wasn't able make a dent in them, so my husband took them to work and they were polished off in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was fantastic! I had to have my husband stir in the last 3 cups of oats, and the choco chips and M&Ms, but I baked all of them. . that took about 1.5 hours! Yum!! These are for a bake sale at church. . .you can't go wrong with monster cookies for a bake sale! I have 6 dozen to sell, and still more than 3 for my family to enjoy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States