Monster Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe for years and it is a family favorite. It really is an addictive cookie. Perhaps that's why the recipe is so large! A word of caution, for best results, measure oatmeal carefully. A little too much oatmeal results in a dry crumbly cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I use this recipe all the time. We farm & have a large active family. I have been asked to bring this recipe, almost every time we send care packages for the basketball or volleyball varsity buses. Good balance of protein/complex carbs/quick energy. You do not need to add or change a thing to it. I use a large scoop and put about 6 cookies on a 12X17 cookie sheet. I don't press them out, but leave them to bake in the scooped shape, and bake for no more than 12 minutes,. I start checking them at 11 minutes. They will look slightly underbaked in the center. When I remove the cookies from the oven, I allow them to set up on the hot cookie sheet for a few minutes, then I transfer to a cooling rack or cold, flat surface when they start to hold together. As with all homemade treats lacking preservatives, package them in an air-tight container immediately when cool. I believe the corn syrup keeps them chewy. The only hard cookies I've had are those last pans I've forgotten to check and overbaked! If you are really particular about wanting cute cookies, try adding the M&M's individually on each cookie after you've scooped the cookies, making faces, etc..however, that's an easier job for the little kids! We've used team colors M&M's. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have made this recipe several times now and the other reviewers are correct. This is THE monster cookie recipe! They make a nice, chewy cookie with awesome flavor! I like a chewy texture so I used the half old-fashioned and half rolled oats and baked them just until they appeared slightly under-done, took them out of the oven and let them continue baking on the cookie sheet another two minutes. They were just right! Kudos to the reviewer that said she used molasses instead of the corn syrup. The small amount of molasses gave them a fuller, richer flavor. Also, you can put any kind of candy or nuts in them that you like; I put in Heath Toffee pieces and pecans. Oh my, were they yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These are now my go-to cookies that I bake for parties and to give away. I always get tons of compliments and requests for more! Just be sure not to over-cook. What makes them good is the chewiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
made these for my sons football team and they were an immediate favorite. used maple syrup instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Our Fav cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Holy cow does this recipe make a bunch! I substituted butterscotch chips for candy pieces and it turned delicious. This are not very soft and get crunchy quickly. I had to mix these cookies together in two very large bowls as they wouldn't fit in one. I will make these again, but half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rec_82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I use this cookie recipe (often with some variation) to feed an army, literally! Every year I have a batallion or Army unit help out with an event and as a thank you, I bake these cookies. I usually end up making at least a double recipe and mix the dough in a plastic storage tub. After they've cooled, I'll put one or two in a ziptop bag and stick a label with the ingredients on it (especially important with the peanut butter in there).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cicischwartz
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I halved the recipe. I also ground half the oats into a flour in the blender for a smoother dough. I added in chocolate chips, m&m's, peanut butter chips, and peanuts. They turned out pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cicischwartz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winsted, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States