Monster Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I have been using this recipe for 9 years!! I make these minor changes: margarine instead of butter, 4 cups quick oats/5 cups rolled oats, and a bag of M&Ms. Because it's such a huge batch, I make them only once a year--for my service anniversary at work. People anticipate them and they are gone in a flash! EVERYONE LOVES THEM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
My fmaily LOVES these cookies. I couldn't find "my" recipe for these and this one is even better. I did add a bag of M&M's -- that's what my old recipe called for and I had them on hand. I think the secret for these is to have a hot preheated oven and only bake for time suggested. This makes a crunchy on the outside but chewy on the inside cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
If you decide to make this cookie, use parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I had my doubts about these, not just because I was using tahini (sesame paste) instead of peanut butter, but also because the batter was extremely stiff, so much so that I actually had trouble stirring in the chocolate chips. But they were excellent - maybe the best cookies I've ever had! I made sure to take them out of the oven at the specified time, although they were only firm at the edges and still seemed underdone in the middle, and I also found that they were wonderfully crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Just don't make too many at a time - you might find it hard to stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This recipe is really good. If you make the cookies normal-size, it makes soooooo many. I've cut the recipe down to 1/6th before, and it still made 9 huge cookes. It literally could have made 4 dozen regular size cookies. So just be prepared. In my oven, I bake them just under 12 minutes, that keeps them more chewier instead of crispier. I definitely recommend this recipe. Also, I got huge compliments on these cookies. That's always nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I can't stop eating these! I substituted M&M's for the chocolate chips and they were perfect. Don't over-cook them - they just look under-done, but trust me, they're done! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I lost my recipe for these cookies and tried these. I only made a couple minor adjustments. I added 1c flour as others suggested. I increased the peanut butter to 3 cups and added M & Ms and Reeses Pieces. Used white chocolate chips, because that was all I had on hand. What a great recipe! The cookies held together well and were delicious. It made a huge batch, which was great, as we have a large family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made 1/2 the recipe last week and they were a HUGE hit. The only thing I changed is that I added m&ms...monster cookies NEED M&ms! ;) I am just about to start another batch...full this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I thought this was an awesome recipe. I added 1 cup of M&M's and only used 1 cups chocolate chips. I brought these to our church picnic, they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These are the best peanut butter cookies I have ever made! I added peanut butter m & m's to the batter and they tasted great. I thought the absence of flour and the abundance of oatmeal would make for a tough texture but I was so wrong. They came out chewy on the inside and just a tad crunchy on the exterior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States