Monkfish Provincial Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
This was nice and easy and quite tasty. Modifications included using Old Bay seasoning instead of cajun, and we we added brocolli and yellow squash in addition to the tomato and mushrooms -- made a quite festive dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Very bland recipe. Waste of a good piece of monkfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I skipped the cajun seasoning (as I cannot eat anything even mildly spicy) so instead added some nutritional yeast to the flour along with the salt and pepper, and it turned out very tasty. I also covered the pan and let the fish simmer for the last couple of minutes of the cooking process. The fish (monkfish in mine) was tender and moist, with a delicate flavour. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This was a quick and tasty way to cook Monkfish. I did alter the Recipe though. I added a Dash of Ground (Cayenne)Red Pepper versus the Cajun Seasoning. I used a Blood Orange Fused Fresh Olive Oil. I added Chopped Zucchini, Onions, and Green and Orange Peppers, along with Canned Mushrooms, and Fresh Roma Tomatoes. I also used Taylor's Dry Sherry. Since we receive a Community Supported Fish Share, we don't always get to chose the Type of Fish we get each week, so this was a nice way to cook our First Batch of Monkfish. Thank you for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made it for my wife and she loved it too. We had all the ingredients except fresh parsley so I used dried. I cooked all the stuff together. I would not want it crispy anyway and all the flavors can mélange together that way. I just lightly dusted the monkfish pieces which I cut into 1 1/2 inch nuggets. I used corn based spaghetti. Wow is all I can say! I used a pound of monkfish and one roma tomato was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was very good and a nice, flavorful way to fix monkfish, "the poor man's lobster"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made this tonight as written except added salt/pepper/seasoning directly to the fish versus to flour then lightly coated in plain flour. It is quick and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
We didn't change a thing and cooked it in a pan on our grill. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
The dish came out very good. The mushroom/garlic/tomato sauce was amazing!!! The fish was tasty but it seemed that maybe I didn't cook it long enough... It was my first time trying monkfish, and I put 4 stars because it wasn't the best fish I 've ever tried but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA
Living In: Shirley, New York, USA
Photo by CaliAngel
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I made this recipe with Swai fish, which is a white fish from Vietnam. It was delicious! Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States