Monkfish Provincial Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I saw Gordon Ramsay use monkfish, and knew I had to try it. OMG. This is awesome! If you have never tried monkfish and you are looking for a recipe. Don't look any further. This is the only one you will ever need!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly as is and it was devine! I used "Jacobs Creek" Chardonnay which was recommended by someone I asked in the liquor store and that worked nicely for this dish. I would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
AWESOME DISH! I didn't have any mushrooms so I substituted an orange bell pepper (thinking the sweet would go well with the spicy) and it did. :) I also used a can of diced tomatoes (drained) in place of the tomatoe. Absolutely wonderful. I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Loved it!! However...instead of 1 1/2 pounds of monkfish I used 1 pound and added a 1/2 pound of sea scallops. I cooked it as per directions and it was delicious!! I used Di Lupo Pinot Grigio which is an Italian white wine. I served it over a thin piece of multi-grain toast instead of pasta or rice to soak up the sauce and with a side of string beans that I sauteed with a touch of canola oil, sesame seed, ground ginger and celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FabulousFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lodi, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
this was my first time cooking monkfish, and i'm totally hooked. i took the advise of some other reviewers (and that of my fishmonger) and removed the fish from the pan after browning it. i added it back to the garlic, tomato & mushroom mix with the wine and parsley. served it with tagliatelle and steamed sugarsnaps. great introduction to monkfish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
OUTSTANDING! This is a delicious fish and very yummy way to serve it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Couldn't find monkfish, used fresh talapia. Really good and easy. Great week day meal. Served over cous cous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Yeah! We really loved this recipe. I browned the fish and removed it from the pan while cooking the mushrooms, etc. I added it back in with the wine and the parsley. I also sprinkled some additional cajun seasoning in the pan (I used Penzey's hot cajun). I would be proud to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was superb. No fresh parsley so used dried basil. Forgot how amazingly delicate Monkfish was. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was excellent. I didn't change a thing. Served it over a brown rice...my husband raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by withmeonthis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States