Monkfish Provincial Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Couldn't find monkfish, used fresh talapia. Really good and easy. Great week day meal. Served over cous cous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Loved it!! However...instead of 1 1/2 pounds of monkfish I used 1 pound and added a 1/2 pound of sea scallops. I cooked it as per directions and it was delicious!! I used Di Lupo Pinot Grigio which is an Italian white wine. I served it over a thin piece of multi-grain toast instead of pasta or rice to soak up the sauce and with a side of string beans that I sauteed with a touch of canola oil, sesame seed, ground ginger and celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FabulousFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lodi, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was excellent. I didn't change a thing. Served it over a brown rice...my husband raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by withmeonthis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Very good! I used Cayenne instead of Cajun since that's what was in my cupboard and it gave it a good flavor kick. I also substituted a can of diced herb flavored tomatoes for the tomato which added a really nice taste. Very good recipe and nice way to dress up monkfish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Something wasn't quite right with this recipe. I followed directions, removed the fish after browning as suggested by others, but the coating got mushy & there wasn't very much liquid left over to serve over rice. Not a big hit w/me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
OUTSTANDING! This is a delicious fish and very yummy way to serve it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
this was my first time cooking monkfish, and i'm totally hooked. i took the advise of some other reviewers (and that of my fishmonger) and removed the fish from the pan after browning it. i added it back to the garlic, tomato & mushroom mix with the wine and parsley. served it with tagliatelle and steamed sugarsnaps. great introduction to monkfish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly as is and it was devine! I used "Jacobs Creek" Chardonnay which was recommended by someone I asked in the liquor store and that worked nicely for this dish. I would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Yeah! We really loved this recipe. I browned the fish and removed it from the pan while cooking the mushrooms, etc. I added it back in with the wine and the parsley. I also sprinkled some additional cajun seasoning in the pan (I used Penzey's hot cajun). I would be proud to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
The recipe is simple and the results are outstanding. I removed the fish after browning, and returned it to the pan at the end to be sure not to overcook. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States