Monkfish Provincial Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe. I've had monkfish several years ago and have never been able to find it anywhere in Chicago. When I saw it on sale at my local grocery store I immediately picked up serveral pounds of it but wasn't sure how to cook it.....until I found this recipe. So tasty and tender and it does REMIND me of lobster. I followed some of the older reviews and made a few adjustments to the recipe. Like, cooking the fish first and then setting it to the side. Turned out great!!!! Oh and it doesn't taste like lobster....only reminds me of lobster. It's like those people who tell you "it taste like chicken" so you have your mouth set for chicken, and it taste NOTHING like chicken. This only has the texture of lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was superb. No fresh parsley so used dried basil. Forgot how amazingly delicate Monkfish was. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
AWESOME DISH! I didn't have any mushrooms so I substituted an orange bell pepper (thinking the sweet would go well with the spicy) and it did. :) I also used a can of diced tomatoes (drained) in place of the tomatoe. Absolutely wonderful. I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I saw Gordon Ramsay use monkfish, and knew I had to try it. OMG. This is awesome! If you have never tried monkfish and you are looking for a recipe. Don't look any further. This is the only one you will ever need!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
pretty good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Couldn't find monkfish, used fresh talapia. Really good and easy. Great week day meal. Served over cous cous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Loved it!! However...instead of 1 1/2 pounds of monkfish I used 1 pound and added a 1/2 pound of sea scallops. I cooked it as per directions and it was delicious!! I used Di Lupo Pinot Grigio which is an Italian white wine. I served it over a thin piece of multi-grain toast instead of pasta or rice to soak up the sauce and with a side of string beans that I sauteed with a touch of canola oil, sesame seed, ground ginger and celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FabulousFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lodi, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was excellent. I didn't change a thing. Served it over a brown rice...my husband raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by withmeonthis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Very good! I used Cayenne instead of Cajun since that's what was in my cupboard and it gave it a good flavor kick. I also substituted a can of diced herb flavored tomatoes for the tomato which added a really nice taste. Very good recipe and nice way to dress up monkfish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Something wasn't quite right with this recipe. I followed directions, removed the fish after browning as suggested by others, but the coating got mushy & there wasn't very much liquid left over to serve over rice. Not a big hit w/me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States