Monkfish Provincial Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Liked it even better with capers and cous cous. Didn't really need that much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by mommy
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
if you are having monkfish for the first time this is the recipe to try! It was beyond delicious. The fish cooked to perfection. Also a great presentation. I would make it for company. I did what others suggested and did the fish, removed it from the pan, put it back in after doing the mushrooms/garlic/tomatoes/wine/parsley. Other than that small change this recipe was spot on with everything from timing to flavors. Oh I used 1/2 of a drained 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomatoe. we served it with a tomatoe herb couscous and fresh broccoli. a quick and easy meal the whole family raved about. will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Definitely cook the fish and put it aside, otherwise it will get soggy in the veggie juices and wine. I added a little bit of fresh basil and green peppers. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dood&Ding
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This recipe is awesome, with some changes. I use almond flour as regular flour is REAL bad for you as is all processed foods. I also use pasture or organic butter to avoid the growth hormones and antibiotics used in dairy cows. Put this on top of brown rice or even better yet, bulgur or quinoa pilaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe. I've had monkfish several years ago and have never been able to find it anywhere in Chicago. When I saw it on sale at my local grocery store I immediately picked up serveral pounds of it but wasn't sure how to cook it.....until I found this recipe. So tasty and tender and it does REMIND me of lobster. I followed some of the older reviews and made a few adjustments to the recipe. Like, cooking the fish first and then setting it to the side. Turned out great!!!! Oh and it doesn't taste like lobster....only reminds me of lobster. It's like those people who tell you "it taste like chicken" so you have your mouth set for chicken, and it taste NOTHING like chicken. This only has the texture of lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was superb. No fresh parsley so used dried basil. Forgot how amazingly delicate Monkfish was. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
AWESOME DISH! I didn't have any mushrooms so I substituted an orange bell pepper (thinking the sweet would go well with the spicy) and it did. :) I also used a can of diced tomatoes (drained) in place of the tomatoe. Absolutely wonderful. I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I saw Gordon Ramsay use monkfish, and knew I had to try it. OMG. This is awesome! If you have never tried monkfish and you are looking for a recipe. Don't look any further. This is the only one you will ever need!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
pretty good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States