Monkey Shine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
These have an improper name around here, but they are proper enough to get a darn good buzz. Best way to get lit is to pour one finger of vodka, one finger of vanilla vodka with a float of vanilla cola, if you can still find it. Pound it back and make another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I already know this drink of old but never realised it was named monkey shine! If you share a real love of vanilla replace ordinary vodka with vanilla absolut...beauty! dont worry too much about measurements, a good glug of each and you cant go far wrong! Thanks for posting this one, everyone should give it a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellytomato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I love these - but I use vanilla vodka and vanilla coke!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I am a past lover of the ultimate "Black Russian" so..... when I read these ingredient's I hopped in my car and perused Kroger's shelves for Vanilla Coke and stopped at our hooch store for some Absolut! What a pleasant surprise and delight! My partner in crime refers to this as SUMMER! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very good and refreshing. Simply tastes like vanilla coke. Not sure why it is thought of to taste like a black russian when they are made with coffee flavored liquour? Vanilla coke is hard to find so I used coke and vanilla vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Delicious! If you don't have vanilla cola just add a small splash of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
An easy adult beverage. I don't care for run and coke, so this is a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Colorado Bulldog Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender put a cola twist on a White Russian cocktail.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Greyhound Cocktail

See how to make a refreshing and simple vodka cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States