Monkey Shine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I already know this drink of old but never realised it was named monkey shine! If you share a real love of vanilla replace ordinary vodka with vanilla absolut...beauty! dont worry too much about measurements, a good glug of each and you cant go far wrong! Thanks for posting this one, everyone should give it a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellytomato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
These have an improper name around here, but they are proper enough to get a darn good buzz. Best way to get lit is to pour one finger of vodka, one finger of vanilla vodka with a float of vanilla cola, if you can still find it. Pound it back and make another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
An easy adult beverage. I don't care for run and coke, so this is a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I love these - but I use vanilla vodka and vanilla coke!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I am a past lover of the ultimate "Black Russian" so..... when I read these ingredient's I hopped in my car and perused Kroger's shelves for Vanilla Coke and stopped at our hooch store for some Absolut! What a pleasant surprise and delight! My partner in crime refers to this as SUMMER! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very good and refreshing. Simply tastes like vanilla coke. Not sure why it is thought of to taste like a black russian when they are made with coffee flavored liquour? Vanilla coke is hard to find so I used coke and vanilla vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Delicious! If you don't have vanilla cola just add a small splash of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colorado Bulldog Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender put a cola twist on a White Russian cocktail.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Greyhound Cocktail

See how to make a refreshing and simple vodka cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States