Monkey Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Takes a little prep, but well worth it. The final result is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I really, really liked this recipe. It is a lot of prep work, but well worth it. After cooking, I like to serve with scrambled eggs & refried beans all wrapped up in a tortilla. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I have been looking to years for machaca meat and here it is. My entire family raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Wow my whole family LOVES Monkey Meat! I made the recipe EXACTLY as stated and it turned out wonderful! Everyone in my family LOVED this meat, my four kids, husband, myself, and my step daughter! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I made this for my church "dinner for 8" and it was wonderful. I was a little worried since there were so many spices in the recipe. I thought it was going to be to much but was very happy with the results. It's a good thing I didn't make it too hot since most of the group didn't like spicy foods. (just my husband and I) Thanks! K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedChefKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is cooking on my stove as I type this. I have made this recipe about 5 times now and I consider it to be one of the best of all the recipes I have made from this site!! So much flavor!! I use the meat as enchilada filling and my family just loves it. I have always used a chuck roast in this recipe, and can only imagine it makes it better. Thanks for a recipe I will be making for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
great for tacos even better as machaca with an egg scrambled in!!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I starting looking for tri-tip recipes that didn't involve the grill and this recipe sounded interesting. My family loves Mexican food but are not fans of spicy, so I opted to omit the red chili pepper; and only used 1 jalapeno & 1 anaheim pepper (both seeded). I also substituted the poblano with 1 tomatillo and the rest of the ingredients were followed exactly. It had enough flavor for my family (especially since I have 2 small ones) I seared the meat and sauteed the vegetables then placed them in the slow cooker with the beef broth and cooked it for several hours. This made enough food for my family of 5 to have 3 separate meals from it. Tacos the 1st night, breakfast burritos with scrambled eggs the next morning, and then shredded beef burritos another night. Received rave reviews from everyone that tried it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to use up about 1lb of tri-tip that I had left over from a barbeque. It had been marinated in tamari, coarse mustard and fresh rosemary, then grilled. I came across this recipe, scaled it down for 4 servings. The changes I made-obviously didn't sear the meat, didn't add the red chili (personal taste)and probably used about 1 can of beef stock but followed the recipe after that. Served it with white rice, homemade guacamole, sour cream and cheese with wheat tortillas. It was fantastic!! My boyfriend ate so much, he barely left enough for MY lunch today!! The meat shredded beautifully and was very flavorful! A little spicey-but when paired with sour cream and guac, it cooled down very nicely. I will be using this for all my left over tri-tip! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A funny name for such a yummy dinner! You can cut down the prep time by using a large chopper. I only used one of annaheim, one of the poblano, one can of jalapenos and 7 dried chilis. The spice is nice as it adds flavor but doesn't overwhelm the dish as just hot. I used a sirloin steak as it is what we had on hand. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States