Monkey Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A funny name for such a yummy dinner! You can cut down the prep time by using a large chopper. I only used one of annaheim, one of the poblano, one can of jalapenos and 7 dried chilis. The spice is nice as it adds flavor but doesn't overwhelm the dish as just hot. I used a sirloin steak as it is what we had on hand. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is cooking on my stove as I type this. I have made this recipe about 5 times now and I consider it to be one of the best of all the recipes I have made from this site!! So much flavor!! I use the meat as enchilada filling and my family just loves it. I have always used a chuck roast in this recipe, and can only imagine it makes it better. Thanks for a recipe I will be making for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to use up about 1lb of tri-tip that I had left over from a barbeque. It had been marinated in tamari, coarse mustard and fresh rosemary, then grilled. I came across this recipe, scaled it down for 4 servings. The changes I made-obviously didn't sear the meat, didn't add the red chili (personal taste)and probably used about 1 can of beef stock but followed the recipe after that. Served it with white rice, homemade guacamole, sour cream and cheese with wheat tortillas. It was fantastic!! My boyfriend ate so much, he barely left enough for MY lunch today!! The meat shredded beautifully and was very flavorful! A little spicey-but when paired with sour cream and guac, it cooled down very nicely. I will be using this for all my left over tri-tip! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I really, really liked this recipe. It is a lot of prep work, but well worth it. After cooking, I like to serve with scrambled eggs & refried beans all wrapped up in a tortilla. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I have been looking to years for machaca meat and here it is. My entire family raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I made this for my church "dinner for 8" and it was wonderful. I was a little worried since there were so many spices in the recipe. I thought it was going to be to much but was very happy with the results. It's a good thing I didn't make it too hot since most of the group didn't like spicy foods. (just my husband and I) Thanks! K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedChefKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Takes a little prep, but well worth it. The final result is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Well, while the preparation for this recipe is indeed very labor intensive (so much chopping!), the recipe turned out very yummy. These are my modifications: I omitted the celery and carrot, I couldn't find all of the different peppers required, and wound up having to use jalepeno and banana peppers, both with seeds. Because of the lack of heat, I also tossed in a teaspoon of red pepper. Also, two large onions seemed entirely too much for the dish (that, and both my fiance and myself are not huge fans of onions)-- I wound up only using about 2/3rds of a large Texas Super Sweet. I cooked this in a slow cooker for about 4 hours on high. I would, in the future, cook this on low probably all day so the meat would be more tender, although it was still good. One last thing: I added a double shot of tequila to the mixture, although I really couldn't taste it. Perhaps next time I will marinate the meat in tequila, along with the spice rub, overnight to liven things up. In all, it was very good with an excellent combination of flavors-- I will make this dish again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkerSolace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
When I first made up this recipe and served it, my son called it monkey meat because it was made with beef which shredded into strings. We've always thought of monkeys as stringy animals, and so the name stuck. I hope this doesn't turn anyone off on trying this recipe. It is kind of labor intensive at first, but the results are really and truly scrumptious!!! Also, you can use a different roast - i've used shoulder clod roast, and chuck roast with delicious results. Whatever's on sale at your butchers!!! You can also substitute the peppers to whatever you can find at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States