Monkey Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I don't get why this is so amazing, but it is!! We use filet mignon steaks quartered and the crockpot on low for 4-6 hours. I also don't put all the spicy peppers in, just a tiny bit. It must be the combo of everything plus the meat juices or something, because it is delicious. Last time I made it, I made sure to eat all the leftovers before my dearest honey could and I even drank the juice! Crazy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WofTjon
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use some peppers I had and I found this one. We put it on tortillas topped it with lettuce, sour cream, tomatoes, onions, cheese and guacamole! Froze some for later and we ate it all! Delicious! My fiance recently asked when I was going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WofTjon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This. Is. Awesome. This is an absolutely fantastic recipe and I use it every time in the mood for some mexicanish shredded beef. It has a little kick to it, but if you're not into that, you can just serve it with less of the "sauce" that is created from cooking or cut back on some of the peppers before you cook it. It is a pretty flexible recipe. I've made it a little different each time, and it has worked out beautifully every time. Last time, I added some canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I discarded the pepper and just used the sauce, and it added some nice flavor with out adding too much heat. Great for tacos, burritos, chili, etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is the third time I have made this. It is the best mexican style shredded beef recipe I have found. Very similar to my fav restaurant. I never have the exact ingredients on hand but just sub something similar. Always turns out great. I use it for tacos, burritos and nachos. Freezes well too. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
OMG- I expected it to be good after reading the reviews, but it was incredibly flavorful and addicting. I will be making this again and again. I think next time I'll make some rice and beans and eat it all with naan bread!!! My husband approved whole-heartedly also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was very good. Read all reviews and was surprised at how many do not use chili in fear of food being to hot. If you buy mild chili it will take on the flavor of chili with out the heat and that is a flavor all should experiance. I buy about 10 to 15 pound of Hatch Chili every year seperate it and freeze. i use all year long. However I never combind several chilies like Pobalno and Jalapenos and only cook 20 min. If you don't like heat make sure all seeds are removed then you get flavor not heat. I think most important step is to Sear meat and sauted all veggies before the mix. After I mixed it I put in Crock Pot becaus I don't like to stand over the stove making sure nothing burns.. This was good amazing thing is you can substitue the meat for all cuts like Chicken, Pork even ground beef. It will all turn out. Mostly don't be afraid of heat get mild and it all works out. When making a stew or soup I use a cup to two cups in my dishes. It really add a flavor that can not be duplicated. Next time I am going to try adding chipotle chili in adobo sauce just a teaspoon to table spoon the rest of the can I will seperate and freeze in a baggies for other uses....I really think it would take this reciepe up a level or two. Guess I will try it again and let you know. ValerieRoman9@aol.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Wow my whole family LOVES Monkey Meat! I made the recipe EXACTLY as stated and it turned out wonderful! Everyone in my family LOVED this meat, my four kids, husband, myself, and my step daughter! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I starting looking for tri-tip recipes that didn't involve the grill and this recipe sounded interesting. My family loves Mexican food but are not fans of spicy, so I opted to omit the red chili pepper; and only used 1 jalapeno & 1 anaheim pepper (both seeded). I also substituted the poblano with 1 tomatillo and the rest of the ingredients were followed exactly. It had enough flavor for my family (especially since I have 2 small ones) I seared the meat and sauteed the vegetables then placed them in the slow cooker with the beef broth and cooked it for several hours. This made enough food for my family of 5 to have 3 separate meals from it. Tacos the 1st night, breakfast burritos with scrambled eggs the next morning, and then shredded beef burritos another night. Received rave reviews from everyone that tried it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
great for tacos even better as machaca with an egg scrambled in!!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States