Monkey Bread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I loved it, Loved It, Loved It....Yummmy. I did make some changes, to make it low calorie. I used sugar sub (equal and splendar). I've been looking for a recipe that was quick and easy this one was perfect. So, Yummy with my coffee Easter moring. I dld make some spice changes. I used cinnamon instead of apple pie spice and changed the butter to low cal butter sub. I cut each biscuit in four pieces. I put six pieces in each muffin cup. And as a Weight Watcher each muffin was only 1 1/2 points. This was so good it truly reminded me of a "REAL" cinnamon roll from the donut shop. Thanks Lindsay. great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used the bread dough from the Cloverleaf Rolls, which is also from this site (I don't usually keep whomp biscuits on hand). Because the recipe made twelve "muffins", I had to double the rest of the ingredients. This was good, though next time I'll just do what I usually do with monkey bread and dip the ball in butter and roll in the sugar/spice blend. I did make a cream cheese drizzle for the top of these which the boys flipped for. It took a little more time with a homemade bread dough but the outcome was great. The kids especially liked these. NOTE: I used my small cookie scoop for this and made three balls in each muffin tin, just like I did for making Cloverleaf Rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I didn't have pie spice in my cupboard so I used cinnamon and nutmeg. I used 7 muffin cups but could have spread it out to 8 or 9. These got rave reviews from my kids and my dad. Super easy to make. These do not last long. **Update: Made these again and they fill 9 muffin liners nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Absolutely Fantastic!! However, I did make a few changes. I only had a mini muffin pan so I used that instead. I cut the biscuits into six pieces and put 3 pieces in each... I was short 12 pieces so I had to cut up 2 more biscuits from another can and I just doubled the spice sugar mixture. I put my pieces into a plastic bowl and put a top on it so all I had to do was shake it around and the pieces were coated. I added a half a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the butter mixture while it was cooking and spooned it on. Took eight minutes to bake and is absolutely wonderful! (I made an account just to write this review! XD)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sequoya D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My Husband LOVED these. I give this 4 stars instead of five becuase I had to search elsewhere for a recipe for biscuit dough, as I do not purchase premade dough. Heres what I used for my dough-2cups flour, 4 tsp powder, 1 tbsp sugar, 1/2 c butter, and 2/3 c milk. Filled 12 muffins well and had enough to have a few plain biscuits on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandanico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These were excellent and super easy to throw together. This recipe makes it easier to serve a small crowd without breaking out the bundt pan. If you're like me and didn't have apple pie spice on hand, you can use the following measurements to arrive at the total of 1 tsp apple pie spice: 1/8 tsp ground ginger, 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg, heaping 1/8 tsp ground allspice and 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon. This recipe will be added to my recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Simple receipe to follow. My son is going to a early morning potluck on Sunday so I wanted to try this out before hand...yes I use my sons a guinea pigs. I read through most of the reviews and used a lot of their suggestions from those reviews. I used the Grands Original (16 oz) which meant I needed to tweak the measurements for the mixture you rolled the pieces in. I also used a ziploc bag to get all the pieces covered completely (one biscuit cut up at a time). I used the apple slicer someone else suggested, putting 6 of those covered pieces in each liner. I was sure not to over fill the those liners with the sugar mixture by using a spoon to drizzle it on and making sure all the pieces were covered somewhat (because one review said it all pooled at the bottom). I reduced my temp to 350 degrees as someone else suggested and ended up extending the time by 2 min increments (total of 16 mins) until they were done on top and sprung back as the recipe calls for. We shared one to make sure they were done all the way through and I must say we all gave them two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyrn58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TLynn04
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
These were delicious! I tore each biscuit into 3 or 4 pieces and put 5 pieces in each liner. I used one 12oz can and two smaller 7.5oz cans and had enough for 20 "muffins". My only advice is to be careful how much of the brown sugar mixture you spoon into the liner. I spooned a little too much into a couple liners and the sugar bubbled over and burned to the side of the "muffin". Otherwise, a great recipe...one I will definitely use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is so good!! I will say it is best if you use the metal looking muffin papers. They keep the goo in better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These are sooo good & sooo easy to make. Introduce your children to the kitchen. Let them help you make these. My grandchildren all want to bake monkey muffins when they come over. We use Grands muffins. They are large so we cut them into 8 to 10 pieces. I cut the pieces. They put them in a covered tupperware bowl. Shake, Shake, Shake. Then they put them in the muffin tins & I finish them off. They put them in the oven. I take them out & they are so proud of themselves. If there are no parents around we make up little gift bags for them to take home for a surprise for Mommy & Daddy. At Christmas time they wanted to make some for their teachers. For the apple pie spice mix I use: 4 tsp cinnamon 2 tsp nutmeg There is an "Apple pie spice" recipe on this site & that one calls for 1 tsp cardamon. This is a spice which I never have on hand & the recipe tastes just has good w/o it. Have Fun!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States