Monkey Bread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I liked these! I thought I had Apple Pie spice, but it was Pumpkin Pie and it till tasted great. I used Grands Buttermilk and gut the pieces a little smaller than called for. I also drizzled a little of the sauce over the hot muffins right after taking them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
my four year old did most of the work and had a great time cooking. the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Nice simple breakfast. Made them twice now and the only thing I changed was using spelenda ins't of regular sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
These were SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very yummy! Made biscuits using heart healthy bisquick and vanilla soymilk. Also used butter substitute and cut sugars slightly. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I, too, didn't have apple pie spice, but I did have pumpkin pie spice (approx. 3/4 tsp) and added about a 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Also, I had to use a 9" cake pan to bake these. Baked about 3 min. longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHNUTS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
OMG! these made my pregnant tummy happy! perfect sweet and biscuit combination! it almost makes me wish I had made the dough too. and not going to lie, I was a bit nervous when I put the brown sugar "sauce" over the top of the dough because I thought they were going to turn out super sticky and I had already promised my kids one, so I just prepared myself for a sticky mess to clean up but they are definitely not THAT sticky! I will definitely be making these again in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Cain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Pretty good. I used a 7.5 oz can of biscuits and made 6 muffins which turned out to be too few as the brown sugar mixture overflowed everywhere. The flavor was good but I think Monkey Bread that uses butterscotch pudding mix tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These are sooo good & sooo easy to make. Introduce your children to the kitchen. Let them help you make these. My grandchildren all want to bake monkey muffins when they come over. We use Grands muffins. They are large so we cut them into 8 to 10 pieces. I cut the pieces. They put them in a covered tupperware bowl. Shake, Shake, Shake. Then they put them in the muffin tins & I finish them off. They put them in the oven. I take them out & they are so proud of themselves. If there are no parents around we make up little gift bags for them to take home for a surprise for Mommy & Daddy. At Christmas time they wanted to make some for their teachers. For the apple pie spice mix I use: 4 tsp cinnamon 2 tsp nutmeg There is an "Apple pie spice" recipe on this site & that one calls for 1 tsp cardamon. This is a spice which I never have on hand & the recipe tastes just has good w/o it. Have Fun!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These are pretty good. I found the recipe slightly confusing in terms of how much dough was supposed to go into the muffin cup. I only had a 7.5 ounce can of biscuits, so I made that into seven muffins. I just ripped up a few of the biscuits and dispersed the dough among the rest of the seven biscuits to fill the muffin cup more. I didn't have apple pie spice, so I just used cinnamon. Also, I didn't use water, I used vanilla extract. I didn't drizzle the brown sugar/butter over the muffins, I actually rolled the muffins in the mixture and then put them in the cups. I thought that would ensure every bite had flavor. Then I added the remaining white sugar/cinnamon to the top. The only reason I didn't give five stars are because try as I did, some bites just didn't have any flavor and simply tasted like canned dough, but the bites that did have flavor were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States