Monkey Bread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very yummy! Made biscuits using heart healthy bisquick and vanilla soymilk. Also used butter substitute and cut sugars slightly. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I, too, didn't have apple pie spice, but I did have pumpkin pie spice (approx. 3/4 tsp) and added about a 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Also, I had to use a 9" cake pan to bake these. Baked about 3 min. longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHNUTS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
OMG! these made my pregnant tummy happy! perfect sweet and biscuit combination! it almost makes me wish I had made the dough too. and not going to lie, I was a bit nervous when I put the brown sugar "sauce" over the top of the dough because I thought they were going to turn out super sticky and I had already promised my kids one, so I just prepared myself for a sticky mess to clean up but they are definitely not THAT sticky! I will definitely be making these again in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Cain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Pretty good. I used a 7.5 oz can of biscuits and made 6 muffins which turned out to be too few as the brown sugar mixture overflowed everywhere. The flavor was good but I think Monkey Bread that uses butterscotch pudding mix tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These are sooo good & sooo easy to make. Introduce your children to the kitchen. Let them help you make these. My grandchildren all want to bake monkey muffins when they come over. We use Grands muffins. They are large so we cut them into 8 to 10 pieces. I cut the pieces. They put them in a covered tupperware bowl. Shake, Shake, Shake. Then they put them in the muffin tins & I finish them off. They put them in the oven. I take them out & they are so proud of themselves. If there are no parents around we make up little gift bags for them to take home for a surprise for Mommy & Daddy. At Christmas time they wanted to make some for their teachers. For the apple pie spice mix I use: 4 tsp cinnamon 2 tsp nutmeg There is an "Apple pie spice" recipe on this site & that one calls for 1 tsp cardamon. This is a spice which I never have on hand & the recipe tastes just has good w/o it. Have Fun!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These are pretty good. I found the recipe slightly confusing in terms of how much dough was supposed to go into the muffin cup. I only had a 7.5 ounce can of biscuits, so I made that into seven muffins. I just ripped up a few of the biscuits and dispersed the dough among the rest of the seven biscuits to fill the muffin cup more. I didn't have apple pie spice, so I just used cinnamon. Also, I didn't use water, I used vanilla extract. I didn't drizzle the brown sugar/butter over the muffins, I actually rolled the muffins in the mixture and then put them in the cups. I thought that would ensure every bite had flavor. Then I added the remaining white sugar/cinnamon to the top. The only reason I didn't give five stars are because try as I did, some bites just didn't have any flavor and simply tasted like canned dough, but the bites that did have flavor were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
For some reason these did not turn out so well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
very good tasting. was perhaps a bit more of the brown sugar / butter mixture than I needed, but very pretty and tasty! (I also made a tube into garlic/onion/ s&p with butter drizzled on top - those too turned out very good. Am anxious to make other combinations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is more of a question than a rating/review, but I'll give it 5 stars in advance based on other reviews. How far in advance has anyone made these? I want to make them before we head to our in-laws for xmas (today is Thursday, and we would have them for Xmas brunch, so two days in advance). Is that too early? I plan to just heat them back up in the oven on a low settinghttp://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Monkey-Bread-Muffins/Detail.aspx#. If anyone has made them in advance, please let me know, I'd like to hear your experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_oddy@yahoo.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I just made these and they were awesome and best of all EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNI932000

Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States