Monkey Bread Made Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is my recipe- 2 things: Cooking spray is missing from the ingredient list and you will spoon about 2 TBS of the butter/brown sugar mixture over each muffin. The original recipe was also edited- you should fill each muffin cup until full (8-10 pieces) of biscuits, not the 4-5 pieces as listed here. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I make this with cupcake liners and put a scoop of apple pie filling in bottom then roll the dough in sugar cinnamon and apple pie spice....then I add the brown sugar and butter over the top. My grandsons love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
These were much simpler than my mothers recipe. Very good for being such a quick thing to throw together. Also one thing we usually do with our monkey bread is after removing the pan from the oven, let it cool about 5 minutes and then run a knife around the edges of each muffin cup to loosen them, then flip the tray upside down on a baking sheet and let it set a minute for the gooey-cinnamon topping to go down on the top of the muffins. Then remove the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
OMG so yummy! Super easy, but I had a bit of technically difficulty with mine. I won't let that affect the rating because they were so delicious. I love almost anything with cinnamon and sugar, so these are right up my alley. These should be a HUGE hit with anyone who likes cinnamon rolls. I can totally see myself making these in the future and drizzling a vanilla glaze over them when serving. The issues I had were that I couldn't find 7.5oz packages of biscuits so I bought 1 package of 16.4oz biscuits. Since it was a little bit larger amount I made 9 portions. But the biscuits were Pillsbury Grands, which I think filled the muffin tins a bit too full. The biscuits definitely should be regular size NOT Grands because I poured the butter mixture over the biscuit pieces and while baking some of the sauce bubbled out and into the oven (and I still had a bit of the sauce left over that wouldn't fit in the pans.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I think there is some confusion with the recipe. There's a review out there where the creator says there's a typo and to put 8-10 pieces in a cup. I think a lot of people missed that and got burnt results because they only used 5 pieces. I used 10 pieces in each and it seemed just a bit too much. I highly suggest making 10 muffins with 8 pieces. As others have mentioned, the sugar-cinnamon mixture is way too much and there's a lot left over. Half it, at least. I cooked it at 400 degrees, but started to get nervous and turned it down to 350 degrees for the last 8 minutes. They didn't burn and were a great success. They did bubble over in the oven, though, and they were a bit too big, but they were loved by all. I might try mixing in other things in the future - orange peel, craisins, pecans, maybe chocolate chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I used a homemade bread recipe (Portuguese Sweet Bread I) but followed the recipe exact otherwise. My family fell in love with this all over again. It was nice to have perfectly done monkey bread and no raw spots. Thanks. NOTE: Kathleen is exactly right. Spray the heck out of your muffin tins or you'll have a mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
We make monkey bread for Christmas morning and this is the first time we did it in the individual muffin tins. It was SO much better! It baked faster and each "serving" was crisp and gooey - way better way to make it. We'll be doing it this way every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
FANTASTIC! Both tasty and super easy. I only had a can of Grands buttermilk biscuits so I cut them into eighths. Following the advice of a previous poster, I used the entire muffin tin and they fit just right. Also baked at 350 for about 13-14 minutes. My 15 year old son said he thought he and I could probably finish off the whole batch before hubby gets home....tempting! Thanks so much for sharing a great new addition to my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
OK; this may sound crazy, but I decided to try making these for a dinner side dish and instead of making them sweet, I used garlic and not cinnamin/sugar with the buter. My family went crazy for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made a half portion of this recipe, because it was only for my husband and myself. It turned out perfect. Went great with a nice cup of afternoon coffee. It's really easy to make, but oh so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States