Monkey Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a great breakfast treat - tastes like sticky buns, but pulls apart. I always spray the bundt pan with Pam so everything comes out easy. I do nuts (walnut instead of pecans) add some raisins and 1 tsp. of vanilla to the butter / sugar mixture. I also use a mix of brown and white sugars - for the remaining sugar mixture. When it's done, just invert the whole thing onto a plate and get out a ton of napkins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
I used four cans (7.5 oz) buttermilk bisquits and cut them in halves instead of fourths. My kids loved this recipe and it is easy enough they can help. I thought it was better the second day warmed with a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Yummy! Easy, failry short baking time. I definitely recommend this one. We use it for family breakfasts, holiday mornings, etc. This is a good one - looks pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Wonderful, quick and easy - great for church on Sunday mornings or a holiday morning. I have assembled everything (other than the butter/ topping mix) and refrigerated the covered bundt pan overnight - wake up, add the topping and bake! Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
This is great for kids to do (almost) by themselves. It's really tasty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
i followed this recipe to a t and when i turned over the bread onto a platter 95 percent of it wasn't cooked. I don't understand how it worked out for everyone else. But it didn't work at all for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
OMG! Absolutely delicious. I was in the mood for a little something different so I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar & 3/4 cup of white sugar instead of all white sugar, and added just a dash or so of cocoa powder in with sugar and cinnamon. I also sprinkled just a handful of chocolate chips on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Singer, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
This is a great tasting and easy. I fix it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is easy and really good! I think 35 min. was a little too long to bake. I will cut down 5-7 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
First of all ...I'd like to clarify a point within the recipe It says " bundt pan". I read in some reviews where people had an overflow problem. I used a 12 cup bundt pan and it baked all the way to the top edge of the pan but did not overflow. There are some bundt pans that are an 8 cup capacity. So I can see where some people using an 8 cup may have had overflow problems. Secondly, another reviewer wrote that monkey bread was not entirely done in 35 minutes. I took mine out of oven at 35 and stuck a toothpick down in middle . and found it to be doughy. I baked it another 15 minutes. Recipe does not specify whether or not to cool the monkey bread prior to inverting it onto a platter. I opted to to that using oven mits, straight out of the oven and it came out beautifully. I could only imagine the carmalized butter sugar mix, glueing to the pan once it was cooled. Lastly I sprinkled nuts in the well greased bundt pan as the recipe calls for. this was ok, but next time I make it I will put a few in the bottom and then scatter them as I layer the cut biscuits... which by the way, I used two cans of Grands Buttermilk. Using the poultry scissors dipped in water each time it was hassle free to cut them. This is an awesomely easy and decadently delicious sweet treat. My husband and son love it! Thank you to Betty Shell for an awesome recipe! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States