Monkey Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Wonderful. Moist, flavorful and easy to make. We used apple juice with a few drops of rum flavoring to soak the raisins and only change from the recipe was to use one whole egg instead of the egg whites. Banana bars don't get better than this, for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I'm only giving this recipe 5 stars for one reason - It should make more!! Seriously - if I could rate it a "10" I would! These are so moist and the banana flavor is great! My bananas were very ripe and I think that helps to impart more great banana flavor. I didn't use raisins as I'm not a huge fan of them, but instead used chocolate chips. I didn't put the choc.chips in the microwave with the rum though, as I did not want them to melt. Instead I heated the rum for 10 seconds, let cool a bit, then added 1/2 c. chocolate chips. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
It tasted just like regular banana cake or bars to me. I didn't use the raisins, since I don't like them. I couldn't taste any rum flavor, and I used Myer's Dark Rum. It was good regardless. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
These were fantastic! Very moist, kept for days. I will be making this instead of banana bread from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This ia a nice little snacking cake. I think it does have a good amount of flavor--some cinnamon might be nice, but overall the banana flavor comes through. It's moist but crisp on the edges--just how I like it. Very easy and quick to make, as well. I like the raisins in this. I don't have walnuts (bf does not like them) and didn't want to sub any other nuts, so I just left them out. Very nice, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I followed the suggestions of the other two reviewers and used a full cup of rum and a full cup of banana. Unfortunately and confusingly, these squares had almost no taste at all. The texture, however, was amazing. Exactly what a banana recipe should feel like in your mouth. I'm going to try this again with even more bananas, maybe no rum so that there's no competition for taste, and see if it's more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very cool name! There's nothing better than saying "I'm hungry. Where are the monkey bars?" Loved the raisins, used half whole wheat flour, the banana part was great (I'd maybe add a full banana next time), but my walnuts were a bit stale - use FRESH walnuts!! My inner child is screaming that chocolate chips in here too would truly make them 'monkey' bars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I used about 1/2 cup of rum in the batter instead of the tablespoon. There was a light rum flavor to the bread afterwards but still nothing terribly strong. I made this into bread instead of bars, and it was a decent loaf that got eaten quickly by the roommates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States