Monkey Banana Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My family loves this! I used ground cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg and bottled lemon juice. It's wonderful on a peanut butter sandwich, and my husband will even grab a spoonfull of it here and there. We plan to make a bunch of it and give away as Christmas gifts this year. My only question is how long the jam lasts before it gets to be too old. Does anyone know? This truly is one yummy recipe we'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I never knew you could make jam out of bananas.i used ground cloves. I also added a little cocoa powder to the second Half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Lovely - just the thing for using up a glut of bananas. I took the advice of other reviewers and only used 1.5 cups of sugar and found this was just right. I also used ground cloves (no straining) and a hint of vanilla . I simmered for only 30 minutes as the jam had thickened. I would like to know how long this jam keeps - has anyone found out? I can see me making more of this for Christmas gifts, I can also see me making a cheat's banana ice cream by adding it to store bought vanilla ice cream.... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wickedwoman
Home Town: Wicklow, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Perpignan, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very, very good!! I did take the advice of previous reviews and used less sugar. I used very ripe bananas (about 6), 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1/8 tsp ground clove, 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. The results are fabulous! Both my girls, ages 3 & 6, absolutely LOVE this! Will definitely be making this again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made 1/3 of the recipe as a test run. It was delicious. I used all the sugar and will cut back on it next time. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg like some other suggested. I look forward to having some brown bananas again soon so I can make a full batch of this jam. It is so good with peanut butter on toast! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Yummy stuff!!! I made a triple batch of this today and it tastes great. I also used ground cloves in addition to a bit of fresh grated nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
good stuff! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is so good. I wasn't sure if it would work but I used ripe frozen bananas that I had been saving (thawed them first) and it turned out fine, a great way to use them up. At the suggestion of others I also added 1/8 tsp. of allspice, ground cloves and nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla. I never cut back on the sugar since it was the first time I made it but next time I will cut it back some as it's very sweet. None the less it is very good and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Who knew there was such a thing as banana jam?? Ok so I used a little under 3.5 cups (13 small sized bananas). I cut the cloves WAY down because cloves can be very over powering. I used 1tsp cloves, 1tsp cinnamon, and 1/2tsp nutmeg. I cut the sugar to 1 cup total. Followed the boiling and mixing directions and then I popped this into my crockpot on low for 6 hours. It made a total of 2 pints for me. Lowering the cloves and adding the other spices worked for me. You still get the banana-y goodness with a hint of spice undertone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great way to use up really ripe bananas. I added cinnamon sticks, and it came out great. Perfect for toast, English muffins, pancakes, and of course, the good old peanut butter and jelly sandwich! Might be a smart idea to put cloves and cinnamon sticks in cheesecloth or even a tea ball. Straining it was easier said than done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States