Monkey Banana Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is a BIG hit with the kids!! They only 2 things that I have changed is adding less sugar ( 2-2 1/2 cups is what I add). Also I switched to ground cloves instead of whole. Also added cinnamon and nutmeg for an added twist. Goes GREAT with peanut butter or even nutella. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Easy recipe and wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
good, tasty. I took the advise of serveral raters and used 1/2 the sugar and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. My yield with the changes was 5 1/2 pt jars I found on another site to water bath 1/2 pint jars for 7 mins and it will keep for one year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Who knew there was such a thing as banana jam?? Ok so I used a little under 3.5 cups (13 small sized bananas). I cut the cloves WAY down because cloves can be very over powering. I used 1tsp cloves, 1tsp cinnamon, and 1/2tsp nutmeg. I cut the sugar to 1 cup total. Followed the boiling and mixing directions and then I popped this into my crockpot on low for 6 hours. It made a total of 2 pints for me. Lowering the cloves and adding the other spices worked for me. You still get the banana-y goodness with a hint of spice undertone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Lovely - just the thing for using up a glut of bananas. I took the advice of other reviewers and only used 1.5 cups of sugar and found this was just right. I also used ground cloves (no straining) and a hint of vanilla . I simmered for only 30 minutes as the jam had thickened. I would like to know how long this jam keeps - has anyone found out? I can see me making more of this for Christmas gifts, I can also see me making a cheat's banana ice cream by adding it to store bought vanilla ice cream.... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wickedwoman
Home Town: Wicklow, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Perpignan, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I never knew you could make jam out of bananas.i used ground cloves. I also added a little cocoa powder to the second Half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is so good. I wasn't sure if it would work but I used ripe frozen bananas that I had been saving (thawed them first) and it turned out fine, a great way to use them up. At the suggestion of others I also added 1/8 tsp. of allspice, ground cloves and nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla. I never cut back on the sugar since it was the first time I made it but next time I will cut it back some as it's very sweet. None the less it is very good and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
USE GROUND CLOVES, NOT WHOLE!!!! I just wasted all the ingredients and am the proud owner of three half pints of banana spiced soup because it's impossible to get the cloves out without also getting all the banana pulp after it cooks down. I really hate to rate it so low because it has good flavor but it's basically a ruined recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Caylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made 1/3 of the recipe as a test run. It was delicious. I used all the sugar and will cut back on it next time. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg like some other suggested. I look forward to having some brown bananas again soon so I can make a full batch of this jam. It is so good with peanut butter on toast! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very, very good!! I did take the advice of previous reviews and used less sugar. I used very ripe bananas (about 6), 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1/8 tsp ground clove, 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. The results are fabulous! Both my girls, ages 3 & 6, absolutely LOVE this! Will definitely be making this again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States