Monica's Never Fail Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
These were a major hit Thanksgiving, my family wants them next year. They are so easy and I love that you can make them ahead and freeze. I do alot of cooking ahead when I'm expecting a crowd and these have been added to my tried and true stand-bys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
one word: FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3RDTIMESACHARM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This is a great recipe! Mixing it up is quick, and you just walk away and let it rise. There is NO NEED TO KNEED! It's perfect! My 11 year old and I put these in the oven and everyone said "Oooo" and "Ahhhh" as we tried them. I even tried rolling the dough into balls and placed two side-by-side in a muffin pan... and they baked up well. Enjoy! Email this to a friend! Thanks Monica! Oh, and try cutting Pollish sausage into 3rds, and wrapping this dough around them, and making "pigs-in-a-blanket". Yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This recipe is really good, but needs some corrections. Step 2 should say to pour milk and SHORTENING into bowl, not milk and margarine. Also, there is no mention of when to add the sugar. I added 2 Tbsp with yeast and the remaining 1/2 cup with the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I thought these rolls were good - a little bland. I'm new to yeast breads, so I did appreciate the ease of the recipe - and it will be easy enough to flavor it up a little next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Like a few others said, I missed adding the sugar until it was too late (though if you look carefully, the recipe does say to add it to the dry ingredients). When it didn't rise, I balled them up like a drop biscuit and baked them as instructed, and they made an ok biscuit. It was pretty dense, but better than throwing it away. I did think it was rather sweet, and I probably would have been better off just not adding the sugar at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Despite letting dough rise over 2 1/2 hrs, it didn't double. Couldn't believe it then said add more flour then cut and let it rise TWO MORE HOURS! What a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This recipe does not tell you when to add the sugar? I am a novice at making bread so I tried this recipe. About half way through I realized this recipe does not tell you when to add the sugar. I decided to add it at a point that I thought would be ok, however I guess it wasn't the right time to add it. Therefore the bread did not rise and I ended up throwing away the whole batch. As I hate wasting food this made me pretty upset. Whoever submitted this I would highly recommend rewriting the recipe with more clear instructions for beginners as the title of the recipe sort of makes it seem like this is a good recipe for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner for 15 people because it sounded so easy and "no fail".. Well, after step 1, the dough rised but did not double. I was rushed for time so I continued on to step 3. The rolls did not rise at all. even after 4 hrs. in a warm oven. My husband saved the day by quickly making biscuits from a mix. I put the rolls in the refrigerator and tried again the next day. I let them sit for a whole afternoon and part of the evening in a warm environment but to no avail. They never raised! I baked them anyway and ended up with what looked like cookies.. I was so dissapointed because of the waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This bread did not rise. It was a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States