Monica's He-Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very good! I made it exactly as stated; however I sauted some fresh garlic and added some Adobe Lemon Pepper Season. I really enjoyed the wine flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Folks.. the best chili bar none.. You can mess with it to add or even remove spice, the melding of the meats is outstanding. Had an outdoor party in November (Chicago) and this chili was perfectly paired with the fire pit and Blackhawks game on the projector!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
We did not find this spicy at all, so I added about 1/2t cayenne pepper. Doubled the chili powder to get the right flavor for us. I used pre-cooked bacon, which lost all crispiness once combined (it had the consistency of uncooked bacon - bleck!) - next time, I'd either use real bacon or crumble pre-cooked on the top of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
My husband did this one ALL by himself! It turned out soo yummy, we ate the whole thing! Topped it with chedder cheese, and a yummy italian loaf with butter...will definately let him cook more often! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
good chili even after couple days in frig
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this recipe for a chili cook-off and won!!! Its easy and tasty. It does say to reserve the juice from the tomatoes but doesnt tell you how much to reserve, so I used it all. I also dont drink and substituted the wine with alcohol free wine, no one could tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
this was one of the best chillies that i have made. i put in a bit more jalepeno, and used smoked sausage. the smoked sausage and bacon give it a nice smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
It says to reserve the liquid from the tomatoes, but doesn't say how much to use, so I obviously used my own judgement. It also said that it was spicy and I didn't think so. So I added cayenne pepper and thought it was better. My boyfriend absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a very interesting tasting chili. I love Merlot, and the wine taste is very distinctive in this chili. This is a recipe that can easily be adapted to ones taste, such as maybe using diced tomatoes instead of whole, chili beans instead of pintos and adjusting the amount of spice. But I just made it as written and I really like it alot. It is in the crock pot simmering now and my husband is going to love the addition of the kielbasa. Thank you Monica, I really like this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States