Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I thought this was very good- much better than the other mongolian beef I tried at home. Only change I made was to also add one onion, sliced...to me, mongolian beef in restaurants always has that. It did have a nice kick to it...my husband thought it was one of the best he'd had! Thanks for sharing- I will make again, although I may reduce the hot chili oil next time. I served over rice, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Excellent! I followed this recipe exactly, except for skipping the salt at the end (taste it first, I'm a bit salt-sensitive, so you may decide you want it). I was a little skeptical about the freezing and thawing and freezing again and thawing again, but it all came together beautifully and tastes very much Mongolian Beef-y. I ate way too much. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was the best Mongolian Beef I have ever had ANYWHERE. It was especially better the next day after all the flavors had time to blend with each other. It was even more spicy...mmmmm good. A MUST make if you like Mongolian Beef. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was yummy! I had some red swiss chard from our CSA box to use and I was looking for a recipe that would work well for our family - this was great! I didn't use the hot chili oil or the red pepper flakes because I was suiting tastes to a 1 and 3 year old, and I actually used beef broth instead of the chicken stock because it was expiring soon :) We'll definitely make this again! I also think it would be a pretty easy recipe to prep the meat ahead of time when it goes on sale and keep it frozen for later use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great flavor. Gave it 4 stars because i had to omit the red pepper flakes and take the oil down a bit on second cooking. Was so spicy kids couldn't eat it and our lips burned first time around, but once adjusted it has become a staple to use our chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Had to substitute the sherry (who has that anyways?). Not sure if that's the key or not, but it was too vinegary and was missing that nice brown sauciness you get from real Chinese food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Delicious! This was my first attempt at Mongolian Beef. I followed this recipe as written with the only exception of halving hot chili oil and red pepper flakes (cannot tolerate overly spicy food and I followed previous review comments). Will definitely make again. Heck, I never even bought swiss chard before, but oh my! This is a must make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
My family said it was "OK" but I personally thought the sauce was awful. Way too sweet for my taste and had sort of a sort of "allspice-y" scent to it. I'll give it this - it was flavorful, I just didn't care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcmor
Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I wouldn't call this Mongolian beef exactly--its diluted/mellow flavors remind me of Green onion beef; however, it's a good base to tweak. A bit too sweet; missing something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I don't like spicy-hot foods, so I left out the hot chili oil and only used 1 tsp. pepper flakes. Also didn't have any oyster sauce. Very tasty, although still a little too warm for my liking. Will try 1/2 tsp. pepper flakes next time. Love the flavors and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States