Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is not Mongolian beef! I even used a beter cut of meat, rib eye roast sliced thin. I have never left a review before but decided it is now time. Do not waste your time if your looking for a true mongo beef recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
My family said it was "OK" but I personally thought the sauce was awful. Way too sweet for my taste and had sort of a sort of "allspice-y" scent to it. I'll give it this - it was flavorful, I just didn't care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcmor
Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very tasty!! Flank steak isn't my favorite cut but it worked very well with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Excellent taste! This is very spicy..I would reduce the chili oil and red pepper flakes.. otherwise excellent flavor. Better to have less spice than too much. Remember you can always add spice, you can't take spice away! We served with fried vermicelli rice noodles-this added a little something different than white rice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I didn't taste anything like Mongolian beef to me. My brother really enjoyed it but he doesn't like mongolian beef. My husband said it wasn't bad but didn't taste like Mongolian beef (that is his favorite chinese dish). I could barely eat it and gave up half-way through my dish. I would not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was the best Mongolian Beef I have ever had ANYWHERE. It was especially better the next day after all the flavors had time to blend with each other. It was even more spicy...mmmmm good. A MUST make if you like Mongolian Beef. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great flavor. Gave it 4 stars because i had to omit the red pepper flakes and take the oil down a bit on second cooking. Was so spicy kids couldn't eat it and our lips burned first time around, but once adjusted it has become a staple to use our chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was yummy! I had some red swiss chard from our CSA box to use and I was looking for a recipe that would work well for our family - this was great! I didn't use the hot chili oil or the red pepper flakes because I was suiting tastes to a 1 and 3 year old, and I actually used beef broth instead of the chicken stock because it was expiring soon :) We'll definitely make this again! I also think it would be a pretty easy recipe to prep the meat ahead of time when it goes on sale and keep it frozen for later use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was a delicious recipe! I didn't have any hot chili oil or red pepper flakes, so I substituted it with Sriracha hot sauce instead to give it a spicy kick. Also skipped out on the Swiss chard, and added some sauteed onions. It still turned out great and I'll definitely be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Delicious! This was my first attempt at Mongolian Beef. I followed this recipe as written with the only exception of halving hot chili oil and red pepper flakes (cannot tolerate overly spicy food and I followed previous review comments). Will definitely make again. Heck, I never even bought swiss chard before, but oh my! This is a must make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States