Mongolian Beef II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This has been one of our family's favorite recipes since it came out in Southern Living in 1985! I had saved the recipe from the original magazine - my son came home from college with a special request for this dish and when I went to get the page from the magazine, I discovered that a big piece of the page was missing. I thought our recipe was gone forever - I am so glad I found this. This is a very flavorful dish with lots of sauce for the rice! The green onions add a great color and freshness to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I was looking for something that would come close to the Mongolian Beef our favorite Chinese restaurant (well, not the favorite so much as the closest) serves. This surpassed it. I added a tablespoon of hoisin sauce and 1/2 tsp of baking soda to the marinade/sauce. I also reduced the cornstarch to 1 tablespoon. I stir fried the green onions along with some thinly sliced yellow onion and green bell pepper because that's how King's Garden does it. I also didn't use quite as much oil as called for, and everything came out terrific. My daughter claimed it was much better than the restaurant's! Thanks, Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
For some strange reason, I ran out of soy sauce and couldn't use the amount called for. Even given that, I was happily surprised at how much it tasted like it was supposed to. If I could get a good handle on chinese food, my husband would be thrilled. This was a great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I love spicy food and added more red and chile peppers. This recipe is a hit the original way! I tried it with the added garlic and gingerroot it was different and good as well. Thanks to all you creative cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was pretty good, but I was looking for something like PFChang's. Probably will try another recipe before this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I followed the recipe to the tee, and it was way too salty for my taste buds. I think if I make it again I'll use half the soy sauce, and maybe more brown sugar and sesame oil. It wasn't even close to the mongolian beef that I've had in restaraunts, but I think I can doctor it up a bit and it'll be okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Good recipe. I modified it slightly: I used stew meat, sauteed it in the sesame oil with leeks and then added the sauce, with stevia powder instead of brown sugar. I adde some water and cooked it in the pressure cooker for 20 min., then added more wine, water and the cornstarch and to make a nice gravy, and served it over egg nooddles (tagliatelle). It was excellent that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Very tasty; But too spicy for most of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was quick, good and very easy to clean up. I would suggest using less oil when cooking the meat. Other than that I would just alter the ingredients to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAE82978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I only had 0.6# of beef so halved the recipe proportions. Didn't seem necessary to do all this seperate pan stuff, so just marinated everything along with some carrot slices and yellow onion slices thrown into the marinade. I also added 1 small clove of garlic. Because the cut of beef was very tender used, just threw everything into my wok and it was done in a jiffy. Used a little wok oil instead of vegetable oil for better flavor. MY ONLY ISSUE IS WITH THE CORNSTARCH...IT IS WAYYY TOO MUCH. I only used 1 tbsp. with halfing the recipe and still had to add some beef broth because it was too thick. I think if using the full recipe would only use 1 tbsp. Next time I would just leave the cornstarch out of the marinade and add it to the leftover marinade and thicken at the end. I found the cornstarch had a tendency to scorch a little. I like spicy and only used 1 tsp. tunisian chili pepper in the halved recipe and it was plenty. Didn't know they ate so hot in Mongolia. Very good recipe and would make it again. Served with plain white jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States