Mongolian Beef II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very tasty. My husband thought it was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDERS70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Overall, a great dish. I shook it up a little. I subtracted the sherry and red pepper, and added two chopped garlic cloves, two teaspoons of powdered ginger, and black pepper to the meat mixture. I also seared the beef for about two minutes in the wok without the liquid to get some texture on the meat, and then followed that with the liquid. I added some thinly sliced white onion before combining everything. I served it over brown rice, topped with store bought fried chow mein noodles. The girl I'm seeing was muy impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I tried this recipe last night and it was awesome. Restaurant quality. I changed it up a lil bit because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used white zin instead of sherry, I added garlic, sliced carrotts and celery and yellow onion julianne style instead of green onions and it turned out great. Other reviewers thought the sauce was too thick so I used 2 tbsp cornstarch and it was perfect! It is not a soupy sauce, it is supposed to be a little thicker so it sticks to the meat. My husband loved it and this recipe is a keeper. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I haven't honed my Chinese cooking skills at all and this was a very easy dish to make. It was nearly restaurant quality. I would advise making it once to the recipe's specs to see what you want to add next time. I added some frozen garlic cubes. Be sure to whisk the slurry until it dissolves all of the corn starch and the thinner you slice the meat the better. This is a great base recipe that I'll use to develop a Mongolian Beef signature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
had to fix this quite a bit. i already used half the cornstarch called for but the sauce still turned out very pasty. i had to add quite a bit of water. i also added ground ginger, garlic powder, cracked black pepper (omitted the pepper flakes) and a bit more sugar and sesame oil to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
My family and I have made this dish for years. It is always a hit. I do replace the Sherry with red wine but otherwise I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misymiss
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Yum, Yum! Great recipe. I loved it and so did my husband. The meat was so tender and delicious. I added granulated garlic and added water because while I was cooking it, it became thick. Next time I'll add 1 or 2 tblspns of cornstarch to an 8 serving dish. Besides that it is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misymiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Not a bad recipe. Anything but bland as other reviewers stated. I don't know if I followed the recipe to a "T" though. I almost always make the recipe as written the first time so I can give it a fair review. After the initial attempt I'm free to use my creative license. Unfortunately the first time I made this recipe I didn't have all of the ingredients... exactly. I had to substitute some Pinot Grigio for the Sherry. I used some Sriracha in combination with the chili flakes instead of the whole chilis. I did have some Thai Bird chilis but I find it's easier to regulate the amount of heat using the chili sauce. I found the sauce to be quite salty, too much so. I also found the sauce thickened too much so I ended up adding more water. This had the advantage of reducing the saltiness as well. I gave the recipe 4 *s as I could've been at fault for not following or perhaps reading the recipe properly. I'm making this dish again tonight for my Korean sister-in-law so we'll see if I have to change my rating one way or the other. One thing I will keep the same as last time I made it was to add 4 cloves of garlic, two to the marinade and two to the onions when you initially soften them. I will submit my recipe for Spicy Thai Beef with Basil shortly, similar to this recipe but far superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Best I have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
My mom has made this recipe for years and it is a great addition to my dinner rotation. It's very easy to make and very easy to "tweak" for your own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristymiss

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States