Mongolian Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Made it for my family and my dad had 4 helpings! Instead of just putting 1 T of soy sauce over the beef strips, I marinated them in 1/2 C soy, plus the garlic and cornstarch. Then before I stir-fried it, I strained off most of the excess soy sauce. Worked fine, but I did have to add a little extra cornstarch at the end to get the sauce to thicken. This is definitely a keeper, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Very good, but i did have to adjust some things, based on prevous reviews. I tripled the sauce and added some ginger (1tsp.) and chilipowder (1/2 tsp) to it. I also added some mushrooms, but that's cause i just had some left. One thing i really missed in the marinade was some ketjap manis (indonesian, very sugary type of soy sauce) for extra flavour, so i added 2 tablespoons. I also reduced the red peper. Overal it came out awesome served with some plain white rice. But there was lotsa preperation and it would have been bland and way too hot (just peper flavour) without the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Fabulous! I added more red pepper, only because we like spicey - I also added honey to even out the saltiness of the soy sauce. Ginger, garlic and sesame oil compliment well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This recipe is the first time I made Mongolian Beef. My advice is to cut up everything before you start to cook because there is alot to chop up. The recipe is pretty spicy, so have cold drinks on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This was a very tasty and easy recipe. I recommend slicing the round steak very thin or you will have to cook it a little longer than indicated. I used fresh sliced mushrooms (my husband requested them) and more carrots and green onions than listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Although this doesn't taste like the traditional "Mongolian Beef" dish, it is delicious!! People- do NOT make changes to this dish, I promise it's great as is! It's a 5 star dish in my opinion. And I will definitely be making it again. Word of warning though- it does make a lot of dishes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elyseholly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
My husband who is not a beef fan LOVED this dish!!! I added snow peas and bean sprouts(because we love them) to the final dish and for some more spice I added a few quirts of SRIRACHA HOT CHILI SAUCE(normally found at Thai restaurants, yet you can purchase in the Asian food section at the grocery store.) I served it all atop of Lo Mein noodles. YUMMY! P.S. Made this again but used Low Sodium Soy Sauce...bad, bad move..better for you, just not as good as the regular soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Everyone thought this was excellent. Think I will double the sauce part next time..like more juice for our noodles! Great blend of flavors..we like spicy food and this could have been spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Very quick, easy, and tasty dish. We left off the red pepper flakes because we do not like spicy dishes and it was still very flavorful. Our five year old even loved it. Thanks for the recipe! We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Yummy! And very easy, but don't expect it to taste like the mongolian beef you would get in a Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States