Mongolian Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I gave 4 stars only b/c of the changes you need to make. I went with others reviews & doubled the sauce & also added 1 tsp sesame oil & 1/2 tsp ginger & 1 freshly pressed garlic clove. I didn't like the meat I used but it is my favorite stir fry I have ever made. It is not a true Mongolian Beef as others have said, yet a great stir-fry. I did cut the pepper flakes in 1/2 & it was still too spicy for our family, so we will lessen it again. But it allows a good taste so I will still add some. We also did the mushrooms & peapods & it was very yummy. Shared with neighbors & they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This tasted GREAT..That is for what little portion I got to eat. My three teenagers ate this up before I knew it. I didn't add the red pepper flakes because we are all extreme wimps around here. It did take a bit of time to prepare, but worth it. Next time I will add a few veggies to stretch the portions. I've had several requests to make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I thought this was really delicious and fun to make. I made it with extra sauce so I could have plenty to soak up with white rice. I let it reduce a long time with the beef and I think this helped tenderize the meat more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin S.
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This dish is delish! I used boneless/skinless chicken breast & doubled the sauce. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
A very tasty dish and one I'll make again. I added a few sliced mushrooms and some green bell pepper and doubled the sauce. Next time I will cut back a bit on the red pepper flakes. A keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I did something wrong because the beef was very tough! Otherwise, the flavor was good enough. Definitely needed something- I'm not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was so easy to make and it was also very tasty. My house still smells good from cooking this meal. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Made this recipe last night and it was awesome. I will make this again. My nine year old even loved it and he is a very picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Great recipe. Though I must admit I winged it a bit. To get a more authentic flavor I used Thai garlic chili paste instead of the fresh garlic and red pepper flake (can be found at most markets in the import aisle), and used a couple drops of sesame oil in the sauce in addition to the roasted sesame seeds. I also added the typical stir fry veggies - green bell pepper sliced onion and snow peas. The result was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe. I was origionally worried about the red pepper being too hot, but it was a perfect amount. The recipe says this serves six, but it served more like three or four. I should have doubled the sauce as suggested by other reviewers. I did use lite soy sauce and did not have to add any additional salt (which is unusal for me). I can't wait to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States