Mongolian Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I gave 4 stars only b/c of the changes you need to make. I went with others reviews & doubled the sauce & also added 1 tsp sesame oil & 1/2 tsp ginger & 1 freshly pressed garlic clove. I didn't like the meat I used but it is my favorite stir fry I have ever made. It is not a true Mongolian Beef as others have said, yet a great stir-fry. I did cut the pepper flakes in 1/2 & it was still too spicy for our family, so we will lessen it again. But it allows a good taste so I will still add some. We also did the mushrooms & peapods & it was very yummy. Shared with neighbors & they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This tasted GREAT..That is for what little portion I got to eat. My three teenagers ate this up before I knew it. I didn't add the red pepper flakes because we are all extreme wimps around here. It did take a bit of time to prepare, but worth it. Next time I will add a few veggies to stretch the portions. I've had several requests to make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I thought this was really delicious and fun to make. I made it with extra sauce so I could have plenty to soak up with white rice. I let it reduce a long time with the beef and I think this helped tenderize the meat more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin S.
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This dish is delish! I used boneless/skinless chicken breast & doubled the sauce. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
A very tasty dish and one I'll make again. I added a few sliced mushrooms and some green bell pepper and doubled the sauce. Next time I will cut back a bit on the red pepper flakes. A keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I did something wrong because the beef was very tough! Otherwise, the flavor was good enough. Definitely needed something- I'm not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was so easy to make and it was also very tasty. My house still smells good from cooking this meal. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Made this recipe last night and it was awesome. I will make this again. My nine year old even loved it and he is a very picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Great recipe. Though I must admit I winged it a bit. To get a more authentic flavor I used Thai garlic chili paste instead of the fresh garlic and red pepper flake (can be found at most markets in the import aisle), and used a couple drops of sesame oil in the sauce in addition to the roasted sesame seeds. I also added the typical stir fry veggies - green bell pepper sliced onion and snow peas. The result was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe. I was origionally worried about the red pepper being too hot, but it was a perfect amount. The recipe says this serves six, but it served more like three or four. I should have doubled the sauce as suggested by other reviewers. I did use lite soy sauce and did not have to add any additional salt (which is unusal for me). I can't wait to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States