Mongolian Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Not bad but not a real keeper either. And definitely not an authentic mongolian beef! The dish lacks flavour (SO asked for bottled curry sauce to put on it!) and it could definitely use more veggies (like snow peas or brocoli). However, with a few tweaks, this could become a nice weeknight stir-fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is a great recipe I made a few small changes. I used about 1/2 teaspoon of Chinese five spice powder, a half of a bag of matchstick carrots and two stalks of celery. ( I love carrots, garlic , onion and celery mixed together). My family really loved this dish I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
The first time we had this, it was rather bland. Marinading the meat overnight rather than for a piddly 10 minutes makes it much, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This recipe didn't turn out at all like I expected. Like other reviewer's mentioned, it's not like the Mongolian Beef from the restaurants. My husband and I thought it was "OK", but it needed a lot of tweaking in the seasoning department. I'll probably not make this recipe again, since it turned out more like "slightly-Asian" stir-fry. We were disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie and Rich

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Great! Doubled the sauce, left out the carrots and used white onions and green bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Very good, but i did have to adjust some things, based on prevous reviews. I tripled the sauce and added some ginger (1tsp.) and chilipowder (1/2 tsp) to it. I also added some mushrooms, but that's cause i just had some left. One thing i really missed in the marinade was some ketjap manis (indonesian, very sugary type of soy sauce) for extra flavour, so i added 2 tablespoons. I also reduced the red peper. Overal it came out awesome served with some plain white rice. But there was lotsa preperation and it would have been bland and way too hot (just peper flavour) without the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
While the flavor was nice, it just wasn't like the Mongolian beef I get from our local Chinese restaurants. I think it lacked ginger? The sauce however could easily be used in a stir fry recipe, which I will keep handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
It was ok, but the sauce seemed kind of bland to me. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This recipe is excellent. I didn't change anything. The beef came out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
The flavor in this recipe is excellent. Husband was very pleased. Very simple & incredibly delicious. Flavor is quite authentic. A definite keeper. Just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States