Mongo Guisado (Mung Bean Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
wow. this brings back memories of my lolo's cooking. this was his ultimate comfort food specialty. he never used prawns but he added slices of ginger and/or ampalaya. i think the prawns make a wonderful complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was the first time I made this and it turned out great! I used my slow cooker to soften the beans which turned out perfect. I also added tinapa in the soup...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ima13
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My father cooked mongo all the time and I didnt know how to make it. Now I do. Taste just like his if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Good recipe, easy to follow thank you! Ummm, instead of olive oil -- vegetable, corn will do, also - instead of salt -- season with Patis (fish sauce) for more aunthentic flavor. Delicious nontheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
i ate it, but was not really into it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Excellent soup, rich and filling. I did add mushrooms (about 1 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I know this is called mung bean soup, but I'm not convinced the mung beans actually add anything substantial, certainly not taste. I also tried the rice as some suggested, but think it does better as a soup. Besides that, I added fresh ginger, a splash of white wine in with the garlic and onions, and a pinch of red chili pepper. I tried adding ONE anchovy before simmering, but actually think it could do with two (ended up adding a few drops of fish sauce as well). Shrimp and spinach should be added at the last minute. LOVELY recipe! Very flavourful. I'll be making this again. Curious to try it with vermicelli noodles, but I'm convinced it works better as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Simple and easy. I simmer it with anchovies and add prawns (shelled and deveined) towards the end of cooking. I use the shell of the prawns by simmering it in vinegar and/or white wine, ginger, a bit of garlic and white onion to make a jus for steaming halibut or wahoo. These go so well together it makes my mouth water just writting about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Panlilio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Om my gosh - excellent! I've never cooked mung beans before, always just sprouted them. I had no idea how delicious they are - they look like lentils when cooked but taste like black eye peas. I used vegetable broth rather than chicken broth, but otherwise followed recipe. May be one of my new favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a regular dish when growing up in our Filipino household....but we always( and as as Fat Mike said) added shrimp to this for an even more delicious dish...always over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States