Monday Night Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Instead of using cream I used 4 oz of full fat sour cream and 4 oz 2% milk. The milk I used was 2%. I also added paprika and a bit more salt and pepper to taste and I used 4 oz of cheddar cheese and 12 oz of a blend of sharp cheddar, Monterey Jack, Asadero and Queso Blanco cheeses, basically a Mexican blend. It's really yummy out of the pot but next time I think I'll cover it with breadcrumbs and bake it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Yum! I substituted small shell noodles because that is what I had on hand. I needed to add a cup of noodles to make macaroni and cheese and not cheese soup. That was my error and will try again next time with elbow noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I love this recipe although I added a few more spice so had more flavour. Also bacon cuz my husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
So easy substituted butter (1/4 cup) and milk(3/4cup) for cream and still turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was a GREAT quick stovetop mac and cheese recipe. I've never seen another like it. I did make some changes. I substituted whole milk for the cream at the beginning because we never have cream, and used only 1 cup rather than 1.5 cups of milk at the end. I also whisked an egg into the milk/flour/mustard to help with the thickening. Finished with a few dashes of hot sauce to give it a bit more depth. The consistency was perfect and it was so quick and easy. This will be a go-to recipe in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Surprised at lack of flavor, even w a LOT of extra cheese and salt. I also could taste the uncooked flour. I really tried to like this but I'm going back to my usual recipe which takes the same amount of time with better flavor. Drain pasta, make roux w equal parts butter and flour. Cook for 2 min, and add milk (about 1/2 C) all at once. Whisk til smooth then add cheese. Return pasta to pay and viola! This recipe was an awesome attempt at saving time and used a creative preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by livingdahl
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This turned out awesome (even though I made it on a Thursday, not Monday, lol!) I was skeptical of the directions, as were other reviewers and read them several times to make sure I was reading them correctly. So I revised the recipe to 8 servings, didn't know what the % of cream was so I used 1/2 & 1/2, used cheddar cheese, put it in a casserole dish, topped with more grated cheese & paprika and baked at 375 for about 15 minutes while the salad was being made. Oh so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livingdahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pianogirl
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Perfectly, salted, creamy, delicious - highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianogirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
The flavor in this was lacking even after adding extra mustard, garlic powder and a bit of paprika. I did use a good sharp cheddar , ended up adding a bit of Parmesan .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Guess what? DBF had seconds. Seconds! He doesn't like mac n cheese! So, changed the following....wasn't sure what 10% cream was, I used half and half and had no issues. My milk was 2% if it matters. I used a 13.8 oz box of Dreamfields elbows, and there was plenty of saucy goodness. I used run of the mill pre shredded sharp cheddar, and added 3 strips of chopped bacon at the end. Was generous with seasonings (did add some paprika and a teensy bit of nutmeg) but really just wanted comfort food, and this is IT! So happy I tried this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States