Mom's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I followed what another reader said about a crumb topping, followed their advice and the butter in this topping caused the cake to not bake in the center and it was swimming in butter. Ruined what otherwise I think would have been a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for my children and when we have guests. It's always a hit! I add in lots of extra veggies though. i use more zucchini than the recipe calls for and I also add in carrots and kale. To counteract the bitterness of the kale, I throw in bananas and dried cranberries. It is super moist and very healthy. I also use whole wheat flour and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I'm not big on "quick" breads but this is the exception. And my friends have asked for the recipe. Not overly sweet, moist and perfect with your afternoon cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIAMIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
yum! i made this yesterday with a hungry husband and picky toddler in mind. this was a staple in my family growing up and this recipe tastes just like i remember so thank you. Like many others i did alter the recipe just a tad: i scaled back the sugar to 2 cups (using half brown and half white), i used more zucchini than called for, at least 1/2 a cup more, and i substituted coconut oil for the veg oil (a "better" fat). thanks for the recipe my family is thoroughly enjoying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This zucchini bread was excellent! Will definitly make it again. Super moist and tasty. I used brown sugar instead of the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Perfect when you follow the instructions. This is a somewhat daunting recipe for the first timer, not that its hard, but it produces unexpected results as you prepare it. NOTE: When you make this according to the instructions you will end up with a very stiff dough prior to adding the zucchini, so stiff you may have trouble mixing it. Use the cooks wonder-tool, your hands. get in there and squeeze the dough through your fingers until its well incorporated, do not kneed it, just use your hands to mix it. when you add the zucchini use your hands again, within a minute the dough will flop back to a sticky and mostly pourable batter, you can then go back to a spoon to complete mixing if needed, and yes your hands will be a sticky mess after this step, stay close to the sink. The bread was not overly sweet, had a nice texture and was completely cooked. One batch made 1 standard loaf and 3 mini loaves (closer to 40 min bake time on the minis). For the folks who recommend making this a low fat recipe I have to say NO. The point of this is the flavor and the fat. Cutting the fat in half only allows you to eat more than you should, stop over eating and its not an issue unless you have a valid medical reason for it, and in that case you probably shouldn't be eating stuff like this. Who lets their kids eat 6-8 pieces of this? I mean come on, half a cup of applesauce won't correct your kid's bad habits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Followed the 1st review. Still on the sweet side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wonderful recipe! We omit walnuts and add a cup of chocolate chips for personal preference, and bake as muffins for 20 min. Works equally well with fresh or frozen zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I like putting 1 small can of crushed pineapple in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Easy and very moist and delicious, was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States