Mom's Yummy Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was really good. I added chopped up potatoes to it and a can of cream of potatoe soup. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anastasia Tonisheva
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The ingredients in this recipe work together perfectly. The crust on top of the onions tasted delicious. My only concern with this recipe is the amount of onions. I used 4 onions instead of 9 and still it seemed like way too much. This is definitely a side dish, and if you're not a big fan of onions, you might not be able to eat a lot. On the other hand, if you do enjoy onions, you might finish the whole thing in one day. Great recipe, but personally I would only make again for someone who is an onion lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great way to treat onions as a vegetable! instead of an accent. I used cream of celery instead of cream of Mushrooms, because it is what I had. Used a mixture of French fried onions and Ruffles Sour Cream and Chives Potatoe chips. Used 5 VERY large onions and made in a 7 x 12 inch Cassarole dish. Sauted the onions in two batches. Looking forward to making this dish again. Would love to take it to a Pot Luck. Ate it as a side dish with Steak, also cold the next morning and warmed up the next evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Ruark

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
WOW! So delicious! I had to change the recipe some due to lack of ingredients in my pantry... Only had 1 onion but I still used the same amount of sauce. Cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom (and fat free). Low-fat margarine. And since I didn't have potato chips, I used diced potatoes instead (which soaked up that extra sauce.) All I can say is... YUM YUM YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent! I did omit the butter and brown 1/2 lb. seasoned ground beef along with the onions for a complete meal in one! (I also omitted the chips, I had none and instead sprinkled bread crumbs over the cheese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
The taste of this dish is excellent; however, I was not as thrilled with the texture. In the future, I might add some egg to help set up the casserole or decrease the recipe and make it as a side dish. As a side note, I used some of the leftovers in a quiche which added a lot of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
WOW! This was awesome! We have a new holiday recipe - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was really good. Like everyone else I thought it'd be weird but it's quite tasty. I ended up using leftover french onion soup but drained the liquid and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this to take to a community BBQ this evening and came home with an empty pan! It was fabulous. I didn't have any beef bullion, so I substituted beef broth for the water and bullion. Since bullion is so salty, I sprinkled some Tony Cacheres' Creole Seasoning on the onions as they were cooking to make up for the lack of flavor from not using bullion. I will definitely make this one over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
i LOVED this dish , although i didn't have any faith in it at all until the very last moment it was done , the ingredients just looked weak and weird to me ..but who knew ? VERY delicious ..i would definitely make it again ,would be nice to serve guests as well , but i would not make it as the main dish this time ..and if i make it for two of us again, i will half the recipe ,i hated having to throw out the rest ..Thanks a lot for sharing it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States