Mom's Yummy Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Reading this recipe does not give you a full picture of the dish. You have to try it, and when you do, it will disappear!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Interesting recipe but pretty good. Will probably make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I served this recipe for thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Kind of a strange combo, but it works! I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Hey Kelly, I'm impressed! I love raw onions but don't care for cooked because they become so sweet. I halved this recipe thinking that my hubby would be the only one who would enjoy this dish. How wrong I was!! Not only did Drew devour his portion, but the kids thankfully, tried it and gobbled up theirs. I really loved it too and was scraping the sides of the casserole to get every last morsel! I didn't have any chips on hand, so I used salsa flavored "Bugles" instead. Trust me, I'll certainly be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This was 50-50 in my house. The actual taste was good but I was turned off by the texture of the clumpy, soggy chips even though it added great flavor. Also when I served it at the beginning of dinner it was quite runny. Later when some came back for seconds it had a better texture - the cheese had hardened a bit rather than running through the casserole - so I would suggest letting it sit 10 min. before serving. Last week I found "Festive Onions" on this site, which we loved - easy, great tasting and a beautiful presentation - souffle looking - definitely fit for company. I'm still on the fence about this one - not sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
yummy is right. I didn't have the chips so I topped it with buttered cracker crumbs. Will definetly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
i LOVED this dish , although i didn't have any faith in it at all until the very last moment it was done , the ingredients just looked weak and weird to me ..but who knew ? VERY delicious ..i would definitely make it again ,would be nice to serve guests as well , but i would not make it as the main dish this time ..and if i make it for two of us again, i will half the recipe ,i hated having to throw out the rest ..Thanks a lot for sharing it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this to take to a community BBQ this evening and came home with an empty pan! It was fabulous. I didn't have any beef bullion, so I substituted beef broth for the water and bullion. Since bullion is so salty, I sprinkled some Tony Cacheres' Creole Seasoning on the onions as they were cooking to make up for the lack of flavor from not using bullion. I will definitely make this one over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was really good. Like everyone else I thought it'd be weird but it's quite tasty. I ended up using leftover french onion soup but drained the liquid and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States