Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made these rolls for Thanksgiving this year and was not pleased at all!!! Like the others, they did not rise and they looked like biscuits. Were NOT "light and fluffy"! I followed the recipe exactly as directed. Will never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Great recipe. Definitely a keeper. It's great to have a recipe that doesn't call for milk, you see I have a child that is allergic to milk, so baking for him is a little challenging. Loved these rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I would be very reluctant to even give this recipe a one star rating. It was undoubtly the worst recipe I have ever used. I went by the recipe exactly as instructed. It rose beautifully, both times. When it was ready to make the rolls, I had to dip the batter out with a spoon and spoon it on to the pan. I Let them rise again for about 45 minutes. When the rolls were done they looked like "Big Cookies", but tasted like cardboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
These are very good biscuits. I made a half batch and it turned out perfect. They went very well with a nice New York Strip Steak. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I gave this recipe 4 stars, because with some tweaking, the rolls really did turn out fabulous, but I must say the dough is a pain to work with. I halved the recipe, but still added the 1/3 cup of sugar, plus added about a tsp of cinnamon to make sweetened dinner rolls. It takes probably one extra cup of flour to be able to shape them into rolls. I stopped adding flour when the dough was still a bit tacky to the touch, then floured my hands to get them into balls. I would not recommend this recipe for a beginning bread maker, but they do turn out wonderfully soft if you have the patience to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
These really had good flavor, but they were too sticky to work with. I tried using more flour to the dough, then the rolls weren't very good. I hope someone can come up with a way to use this recipe where they aren't too sticky to work with as I really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Turned out very runny, but when used in muffin cups, it was actually quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Stanley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Recipe was very gooey. Basically had to spoon it into the pan. Barely raised in the oven. They did taste good. But looked more like a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Thanksgiving 2004 was going to be the year I made yeast rolls, well it was suppose to be. Some were in this you need to knead the dough,and maybe it would not be so gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Crider Gilbert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I made these rolls for a pot luck and everyone loved them. very light and fluffy. these were the most simple rolls i have ever made.i did add a little extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States