Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
These have turned out great for me every time. The dough is quite a bit sticky, but I work flour into them as I am forming them and let them raise a little more before baking them. They always come out nice and fluffy that way. I find that if I don't give them the extra raising time, they are heavy like my Gramma's rolls. Either way, we love them. I've also used this recipe for cinnamon rolls, raisin bread and pepperoni rolls. It's trial and error for your desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Like some others, I had to add 2 1/2 cups of extra flour to make a dough. Obviously the liquids have to be reduced somewhere. I use bread-machine yeast, which is not dry and doesn't have to be reconstituted in water. So, cutting that 1/2 cup of water and reducing the 2 cups to maybe 1 1/2 could do the trick? The two eggs and the 1/2 cup margarine have to be counted as liquids. The taste is not so bad and they rose quite well, though I added an extra teaspoon of yeast. Good try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juscookin
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I had to add lots of extra flour to make this dough managable. The rolls were fairly bland and I had followed some of the advice of others to add a bit more sugar. These did not raise as much as I would have liked. I will probably not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
nice easy rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Very disappointing!! Had to almost double the flour and still could not shape the dough. I'm an experienced baker and I don't know why it comes out great for one baker and several of us had the same problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
THEY WERE GREAT.....THEY WILL BE MADE EVERY THANKSGIVING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Virginia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
these are amazing so easy and the best buns I have ever made thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
These were OK. More flour is needed to form rolls. More like a yeast biscuit than rolls but were fine with stew on a cold night. I'll tweak it a bit if I make them again and will double the sugar. Easy enough to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebOnEarth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I made these "rolls" for Thanksgiving because I wanted a simple roll recipie this year. I wish I'd read all the reviews first - they were terrible! The only thing I did different was use butter instead of margarine. I couldn't get enough flour added to the recipie and the batter rose to create a bubbly spongy mess that fell everytime i moved the bowl and had to be scooped with a spoon. i left it to rise extra time hoping it would solidify into dough. They came out of the oven flat, hard and tasted awful. Definitely do not recommend this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Terrible recipe. By the time you add enough flour to make dough workable, you end up with a dry yucky "bread thing". Very disappointing to say the least. Didn't cook into a very pretty bread. Hard and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States