Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Texasfairbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Loved these and will make again. Thanks for the recipe .This wont replace my current recipe but it is quite good.These did come out light and fluffy for me I quess it could be I could make yeast bread with my eyes closed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These tasted wonderful. I've never been very successful with homemade bread, but these rolls were just what I expected. They were fluffy, light, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
no stars. I have tried this recipe two times in the past two days and they have been hard rocks both times. I had to add flour just to work with the dough and they were still gross. I think the only place for these to be eaten would be communion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This recipe is, by far, the worst recipe I've pulled from this site. These rolls are NOT light and fluffy, and they will NOT melt in your mouth. Twice I tried to this recipe today. Once I followed the recipe precisely as written, the second time, I allowed the rolls to rise for 45 minutes after they were placed on the pans to bake. Both times I came out with rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UHElle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Good flavor but did not rise in oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79xlch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Dough seemed impossible to work with without a lot more flour and then ended up very hard. I must have gotten something wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Linske

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
These have turned out great for me every time. The dough is quite a bit sticky, but I work flour into them as I am forming them and let them raise a little more before baking them. They always come out nice and fluffy that way. I find that if I don't give them the extra raising time, they are heavy like my Gramma's rolls. Either way, we love them. I've also used this recipe for cinnamon rolls, raisin bread and pepperoni rolls. It's trial and error for your desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Like some others, I had to add 2 1/2 cups of extra flour to make a dough. Obviously the liquids have to be reduced somewhere. I use bread-machine yeast, which is not dry and doesn't have to be reconstituted in water. So, cutting that 1/2 cup of water and reducing the 2 cups to maybe 1 1/2 could do the trick? The two eggs and the 1/2 cup margarine have to be counted as liquids. The taste is not so bad and they rose quite well, though I added an extra teaspoon of yeast. Good try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juscookin
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I had to add lots of extra flour to make this dough managable. The rolls were fairly bland and I had followed some of the advice of others to add a bit more sugar. These did not raise as much as I would have liked. I will probably not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
nice easy rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States