Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
1 star as written! I made this last week and it was perfect, I went to make it this morning and realized that last time I forgot to add the extra 1/2 cup of water. Well, I added it this time and NEVER AGAIN! I had a sticky, gooey mess that I had to keep feeding flour. I'd give it 5 stars without the extra water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Katt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I don't know where all the bad reviews come from. I used this recipe for the 1st time last September. From the 1st time I used it to the 7th time I used it. They come out as described every time. I've never had issues with the yeast, the dough rising, or the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I couldn't give this recipe any stars. I was sooooo mad at the money I wasted buying 2 packages of the yeast and all the extra cups of flour I had to add just to make it somewhat usable and then they tasted horrible and didn't rise. Never again. I will check the reviews before I try something like this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
It's the best home-made bread I've ever eaten!!! It's fluffy and tastefull. I was actually looking for a whole-grain bread recipe so I added 2 cups whole-wheat and 3 cups white flour instead of the original recipe. The dough was a bit sticky and hard to give shape so I put some olive oil into my hand palms, that was really helpfull...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ankara, Ankara, Turkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
It is my opinion that if a recipe gives so many different results that it is probably not a very good recipe. I tried this recipe as I was curious as to why so many had poor result and so many good. I work in a bakery and I have to say that I tend to agree with the poor results side. The recipe is definitely gooey. Either the liquid is wrong or the flour amount is wrong. I did not add the 1/2 C of cold water to the yeast. I simply poured the yeast into the first liquid step when the temp. cooled down a bit. This worked great. I kept the flour amount about the same and also I kneaded the dough for 10 mins. I think that there are so many other great recipes out there that work everytime and it would serve you well to find one of those, especially beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
502 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I concur with most of the reviews written. This was my first time trying this recipe, and baking yeast rolls. I followed the directions to the letter, and the dough didn't rise. It was gooey. I didn't add any extra flour or yeast. The rolls didn't rise when I went ahead and baked them, either. They looked more like scones or biscuits than "light, fluffy" rolls. When I think light and fluffy, I think of rolls found in places like Golden Corral. I, too, may search for another yeast roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEMESIS94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texasfairbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Loved these and will make again. Thanks for the recipe .This wont replace my current recipe but it is quite good.These did come out light and fluffy for me I quess it could be I could make yeast bread with my eyes closed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These tasted wonderful. I've never been very successful with homemade bread, but these rolls were just what I expected. They were fluffy, light, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
no stars. I have tried this recipe two times in the past two days and they have been hard rocks both times. I had to add flour just to work with the dough and they were still gross. I think the only place for these to be eaten would be communion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This recipe is, by far, the worst recipe I've pulled from this site. These rolls are NOT light and fluffy, and they will NOT melt in your mouth. Twice I tried to this recipe today. Once I followed the recipe precisely as written, the second time, I allowed the rolls to rise for 45 minutes after they were placed on the pans to bake. Both times I came out with rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UHElle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States